We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive lunch”

Nick's Riverside Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Nick's Riverside Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,117 of 3,237 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Thomas Jefferson St NW
Transit: Foggy Bottom and Rosslyn Metro stations are a ten minute walk from the restaurant. DC Circulator DC Bus Stops
Sharpsburg, MD
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Expensive lunch”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We ate here with our two children on a fine Sunday afternoon when the weather was nice and the skating rink was busy. I had the sausage open-faced "sandwich" (called a tort... something) - it was okay - a lot of roasted red peppers that slightly overwhelmed the rest. It came rested on spinach and butter lettuce leaves that were sprinkled with what seemed like a balsamic vinaigrette. It was $11. I had a nice Fat Tire draft with it. My husband had a burger, which he seemed to like. The mayo he asked for came in packets alongside. It came with homemade chips. He ate the whole thing. Our daughters each had $9 kids' meals - one had the crispy wings, which dad enjoyed. It came with fries (that appeared like the frozen shoestring kind) - the other had penne pasta with a lot of cheese (mac & cheese). We had the calamari as a starter. We enjoyed it well enough but it was a bit salty even for calamari. We were told we couldn't sit up by the windows because a party was coming, but they sat empty like the rest of the restaurant while we were there. So, we sat down in a nice (but dark) booth by the bar. It would have been spectacular to be able to sit by the windows . . . We might have returned had we had that touch added to our just okay meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zieglerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    86
    76
    28
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kids menu, what kids menu?”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked this place due to its beautiful location. We checked out the menu online and with 3 children also checked out the online kids menu. The online menu is completely different to the menu handed to us by the waitress and when we requested the kids menu we were told they don't have one. This is not a kid friendly restaurant. The seating is either sit outside with the smokers or inside at tall bar tables which is not ideal for little kids

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Belinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Eats”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a nice grille along side of the Potomic River in Washington DC It has inside or outside seating We had LUNCH THERE AND IT WAS VERY TASTY. tHE SERVICE WAS FAST AND COURTEOUS AND THE AREA WAS EXTREMELY CLEAN We would recommend this place to eat

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zr9000x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worse calamari I have ever eaten”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I am so stunned by the bad quality of the food we were served that I have to write this review. We ordered a glass of wine, which came in a plastic glass, but the red wine was warm. Then came the calamari appetizer. They had a bitter taste, they were fried but soggy and watery and zero crunchiness. I am afraid I may get sick as a result. To the credit of the manager Ralph, he apologized, did not charge us for the calamari and was keen on being nice and invited us to come back at a later time. He also said he took the calamary off the menu bwcase their deep fryer had problems. In any case they should change the brand of frozen calamary they get because they were just bad. They tried hard and apologized in a friendly way, which we appreciated .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yolande M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do NOT go there EVER unless you want horrible service AND attitude”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Took a friend visiting DC for the first time ever, hoping to end a beautiful day of sightseeing and shopping in Georgetown on a high note -- BAD IDEA! The place was EMPTY (except for the bar area) and they wouldn't let us sit at a table to have our drinks. They insisted we had to sit at the bar, which would not be comfortable given that it was juuuust full enough that it would be a squeeze. On our way to the bar, a rude bouncer asks to see our IDs (at 5 pm?!) and puts some bracelet on us. We finally sit at the bar only to find out that they don't have any beers on tap. Only cans. So I order one, while my friend orders a Diet Coke -- the rude bartender does not even give us a cocktail napkin to rest our drinks on, tries to squeeze a lemon into the opening of my Corona CAN, and pours about of a spoonful of Diet Coke into a cup filled to the brim with ice for my friend. No refills on the Diet Coke; nobody asked if we were doing OK or wanted another round; nothing. Just a drippy can and plastic Diet Coke cup and nothing to wipe the drippiness with. All of this with attitude from the bimby aging blonde bartender... It was the ONLY negative on our wonderful day, so spare yourself ANY negative to your lovely outing with out-of-town friends and just stroll through the waterfront and go have a drink elsewhere -- there MANY (and WAAAAAAY better) other options!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Riverside Grille also viewed

 

Been to Nick's Riverside Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing