We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”

Thunder Burger & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Thunder Burger & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #95 of 3,257 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 31st St
Transit: Thunder Burger is located approximately .75 miles from both the Foggy Bottom and Rosslyn Metro stations. The Georgetown Metro Connect, the Circulator Bus and the "30"s" Metrobuses all stop within 1/2 block of the restaurant, in front of the Georgetown Barnes & Noble (east-bound) or at the corner of M and 31st St (west-bound).
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were only in DC for 3 days, and I think we visited Thunder Burger & Bar everyday - mostly to make the most of their amazing happy hour, and great selection of beers. We did eat here one day and had huge, tasty bugers. Great place - and good location if you're staying in Georgetown

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    206
    50
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Burgers for Brunch on Saturday”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stopped here on our walk up M street. The Brunch Menu looks great and the food is high quality. I ordered a Burger with mushrooms and My wife got a turkey Burger. My burger was very good high quality grass fed beef, cooked perfectly and it was tasty, but the bun had no substance and soon fell apart. The Turkey Burger was amazing, herbed and nutty flavored. Bloodys are excellent even though the bartender had the personality of a house cat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent burger, super location, cool atmosphere and decor”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We headed to Georgetown after a 10 mile run with a craving for BEEF! We walked around town a bit and spotted Thunder Burger & Bar. The menu, posted out front, sounded very appealing, there was a lively crowd, and the atmosphere looked like a cool combination of funk and art. We were seated in the rear dining area which had a very homey feel. Our waiter, Dimitri, was very nice and helpful with both drink and menu selections. There was a plentiful beer selection and the suggested cocktail (Jalisco Sunrise) was delicious too. We started with the hot spinach and artichoke dip and both loved it. My husband had the Showdown at the Border burger and said it was very good. I had the Love Me Tender and thought the Kobe beef was excellent and the Tillamook sharp white cheddar was a perfect topping along with the tomato and remoulade. Mmmmm, I'm getting hungry just writing about it. The french fries were really tasty too. We had an added bonus of going during Happy Hour when our appetizer and beers were half price. This was a great choice and an excellent deal!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 10acious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
934 reviews
627 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Good find!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Staying in the Foggy Bottom / Georgetown area for business, I was looking for some place to have a burger or steak, but nothing too upscale. I happened to "stumble" upon the Thunder Burger and Bar in the midst of a lot of dining options!

The establishment itself has very good atmoshpere, with some plaster and what appears to be original brick interior walls. The aisleways were tight and narrow, but there was decent amount of room to sit. I visited at about 6:30 on a Monday night, and was seated immedately. Ashton, my server, was very friendly, and service was quick throughout the meal.

The menu for both burgers and beer was very unique, and had some intriguing options. I opted for a microbrew, and a bison burger (I think the name was "Buffalo Stomp". There were several "signautre" burgers, and a "Build your burger" option.

The burger and side of fries was very appealing when delivered, with a side of home-made ketchup (remoulade??). My burger was topped with bacon, grilled onions, and gorgonzola cheese. The taste was excellent, although a bit dry; I chalk that up to me ordering a medium well burger (typical for me for beef); bison is a leaner meat, so probably would have been better and moister if I ordered "medium". Other than that, the burger was excellent.

Overall, an excellent meal. The prices are a bit high, but this is in the heart of Georgetown, so I wouldn't expect anything different, and I don't think it was out of the ordinary. I will definitely be back if in the area!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food good, service slow”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Had a good salad
Burger not hot when served and fries limp
Service slow
Average place
You could do better

Helpful?
Thank mtnbikerScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunder Burger & Bar also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Thunder Burger & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing