We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small plates, very tasty offerings”
Review of Ezme

Ezme
Reserve with OpenTable
Ezme is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #267 of 3,229 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Dupont Circle Metro (Red line)
Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small plates, very tasty offerings”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Heard about it and gave it a try. They offer tapas-like small plates giving couples the opportunity to sample several different items. All 5 items we had were very good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arnold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    67
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We were so glad we came here!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our original plan for dinner had us going to a Belgian restaurant, but we decided we wanted something different and chose Ezme. It was a great decision. We'd never had Turkish food before and liked the idea of a tapas style meal instead of something full and heavy.

The service was excellent, from asking for recommendations to the friendly treatment of our seven-year-old daughter. She thoroughly enjoyed the red lentil soup and we also enjoyed the choices we had made, some of those the recommendations given by the waiter and others we chose on our own. The zucchini pancakes were excellent, similar to a potato pancakes but a slightly different flavor. We also chose the kofte (beef and lamb meatballs) and one of the lamb specials (I can't remember the name), both of which were very flavorful and tender.

We were there on a Monday night, which is half-priced wine night. We chose a bottle of Turkish wine and were not disappointed. The restaurant was busy, but not packed. It's obvious they have taken care with the decor and even have fresh flowers on the tables, not the plastic ones you see elsewhere.

Overall, we were extremely pleased with this restaurant. The atmosphere is such that it could be a date night, girls night out or a casual family meal. The food is very good, service excellent. The location is a plus, just a block from the DuPont Metro station. You won't be disappointed if you give this place a try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyGirlAtHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, WI
Level Contributor
114 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Authentic Turkish food, nice atmosphere, good wine list”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Having just visited Turkey, we were eager to get back to some good turkish food. Ezme is as close as I have come in the US to the food we experienced in Istanbul and central Turkey. The portions a tapas size, but nicely garnished. The mezze (hummus, ezme, eggplant) were very good. The ezme could have been diced a bit smaller. The bread was good, but I would have preferred lavash style instead of the more brioche style they served. The lamb in the lamb kabobs was very tender but cooked evenly. The service was good and very friendly, but we had to remind them of a couple of drink orders, no big deal. The wine list is very extensive (it is also a wine bar), and has a nice selection of Turkish wines, especially red. Overall, I would return and would recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeqonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OK turkish food.”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

For lack of better places in the DC area this restaurant is a good choice. If you are craving for excellent turkish food you have to go outside the city.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank gperezv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“a gem near Dupont Circle”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

A great addition to the growing number of tapas/mezze restaurants. Tip: On Monday evening, all bottles of wine are half price. Food highlights were the whole fish, expertly filleted at our table; mushrooms on a bed of pureed eggplant and gruyere; zucchini pancakes; and baklava. We could almost see and smell the Bosphorus.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank orangerook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ezme also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Ezme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing