We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capital Grille” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 6th Street
Transit: National Archives Metro Stop
Description: You are cordially invited to join us for an evening or afternoon of relaxed elegance and exceptional cuisine. Our impressive menu of nationally renowned dry aged steaks and the freshest of seafood will ignite your culinary imagination as our award-winning wine list of more than 5,000 bottles awakens your inner sommelier. And as our gracious, knowledgeable servers delight you with their uncanny ability to anticipate your every need, you’ll experience firsthand why the American Culinary Federation recently bestowed upon us their “Achievement of Excellence Award.” Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion or hosting a business luncheon or dinner, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private dining event. Our event planning staff has extensive experience and the ideal materials to work with—a capital setting, distinctive food and unmatched service. Located on the corner of 6th and Pennsylvania.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Capital Grille”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Nice place but not what I thought. Very expensive for what you get. Went for lunch. Great service but a salad for $20 or so and not that much on the plate. I would not go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    954
    341
    97
    38
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Expensive, but good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I always like a "blow out" meal or two when on holiday and Capital Grille certainly fitted the bill. To be honest I was sold on the place when I walked past and the window display was hundreds of steaks maturing on hooks.

It was very busy on a Friday night and we could only get a table for 9:30. They do have a small bar area (with full menu served) but that it is on a first come-first served basis. We went for a drink elsewhere and came back. The main point is that at peak times you will be better off booking in advance.

The menu is a steak lover's dream and it took us almost as long to order as it did to eat them when they arrived.

The Lobster Bisque starter was divine, and packed full of big lobster pieces.

We both had the special bone-in Kona steak with a mushroom and caramalised onion sauce. To be honest, although I enjoyed it, I was slightly disappointed with it. It came rare, cooked just as I asked for it, but it seemed a little stringy and maybe was a cut that would have been better served medium. But perhaps that was personal preference. I still enjoyed it.

All in all it won't be a cheap night if you dine here, but if you love your steak you will certainly enjoy it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iwficon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW you have to try this place !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

A1 rating for this place The best steak I had ,,,EVER !!! You have to check this place out beats Morton's hands down

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good after work crowd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stopped by here after work yesterday to meet friends. Good "power" vibe. Few Congressmen floating around and lobbyists trying to look important. Helpful attentive staff. Good drinks and great bar food. Pricey but worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kabulpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Best Steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This restaurant is located on Pennsylvania Ave within walking distance of the nation's capital. Sat at the bar and totally enjoyed a top notch meal! Ordered a shrimp cocktail, a 8oz fillet (cooked perfectly) and a side of asparagus with lemon oil! My meal was totally awesome and it was well worth the price!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tommeegun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing