We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For Washington the prices were reasonable”

Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 3,199 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Spanish, Cuban, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Corner of 9th & H Streets
Transit: Two Blocks away from Chinatown Metro Stop (Red, Yellow, Green Lines). Four Blocks from Metro Center Stop (Orange & Blue Lines)
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
297 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“For Washington the prices were reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

For Washington the prices were reasonable. The atmosphere and decoration are good. The Vaca Frita is good if you like strong flavors. Advacado starter also recommend. A fun place to eat. We will go back next time we are in DC.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AandM5864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    306
    128
    40
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Jerome, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I'll defenitely go back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Excellent food, great atmosphere (I wanted to book a vacation to Cuba after that night) our server LaShondra just made us feel like she invited us in her home, the service was warm and excellent. we didn't have a réservation, the place was packed and the host worked realy hard to find us a table. The only thing I would have appreciated was a good local bref on tap...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Cuban food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, wasn't too crowded on a Friday night, food was great, service was excellent. Got the ropa vieja

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice food in a nice place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We went to Cuba Libre during the restaurant week, and the place was pretty full and loud, but we were seated in a reasonably quiet spot and were not really bothered by the noise. The decor is designed to look like a plaza in a old south american village - whether it's Cuba or somewhere else I can't tell, but definitely has a latin, homey feel to it. Our server was very attentive, knowledgeable and friendly and dealt with my food allergies. We started with a basket of Cuban bread with flavored butter, so yummy ! My husband and I shared the 2 appetizers, 1 entree and dessert dish per person and we both agree that this was really nice food indeed. I do not know what "real" Cuban food is, but we were very satisfied with the unusual flavors and combinations we were offered. Only the desserts were just so-so, but at this point we were so full that it did not really matter. And they have an extensive menu for rum-based cocktails, plus more than a 100 different rums (light and dark and every flavor in-between) to be tasted. They are not exactly cheap, but that's still decent for good aged rums...and good aged rums they have !!! We will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Pea7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I love the food here! And they have about 12 kinds of mojitos, all of which are perfectly yummy. The fried bread they bring you for the table is so good I could just eat that instead of a meal.

If you eat at the bar on a Friday or Saturday night, though, they will rush you out because they take the bar stools out to make room for dancing. Wish we had known this before we sat at the bar.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GiniB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing