We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent but Not Exciting” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kababji Grill - CLOSED

Kababji Grill
Price range: $12 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: Dupont Circle and N Street
Transit: Dupont Circle Metro(Red Line)
Description: Located just off of bustling Dupont Circle, Kababji Grill features authentic, healthy, and flavorful Lebanese cuisine in a casual environment. Decorated in rich traditional colors and regional artifacts, Kababji invokes a warm and welcoming attitude. The signature orange brick charcoal burning grill, imported from Lebanon, perfectly captures the full flavor of our food. Whether you are looking to enjoy a fun night with friends or to reward the office with the finest catered Lebanese food in DC, Kababji offers delicious and intriguing options.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Decent but Not Exciting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

There are better Middle Eastern restaurants in DC. But not a bad place and quick for the business diner.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank getaround28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canaan, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Grilled delights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This gem of a restaurant features some fine appetizers and foods. We tried the Lebanese Feast...highly recommended. Delicious appetizers and a variety of grilled kabobs, as well as baklava for desert are well worth the $30 per person. And for the open curious person, try the jilab martini.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rstauffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
154 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Kababji is very convenient to Dupont Circle area hotels. The service was very friendly, but the food was just OK. My friends and I got the Lebanese Feast, which had far more food than we could eat. The hummus was excellent, but everything else was rather bland.

Another drawback - you can only get the feasts if the entire table goes for it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TBDWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
201 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best Lebanese Restaurant in DC!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Kababji Grill is a casual restaurant, nothing fancy, but what impresses you at the entrance it's the open grill with the a display case presentation of the different styles of kebabs. The selection of mezze is by far the most diverse I've seen in any Lebanese restaurant in the USA. The waiters were courteous and the food is excellent. The place is great for groups and for sharing their assortment of mezze. And for a truly Beiruti experience, ask for a glass of Arak with a bucket oo ice on the side!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst lentil soup I have ever had!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The so called lentil soup was watery and tasteless. I have enjoyed Lebanese and Middle Eastern Restaurants for many years throughout the US and this was the worst tasting food. The babaganoush was not creamy or flavorful. The lamb entree was also lacking in flavor, and more rice than lamb. The service was very good and the ambience but that is all. I am sorry but it just did not measure up to the Persian Restaurant we frequent in our city.

Helpful?
1 Thank wisconsinbeckerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kababji Grill also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing