We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Memorial”

District of Columbia War Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Ranked #105 of 446 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My Favorite Memorial”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is the National Mall's hidden little gem. It's the perfect place to sit quietly and think about all the people who've help build this country.

Actually - it's likely a great place to propose to someone. I'm sure that's happened a lot. Find it. Enjoy it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Corbett3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    38
    35
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stop by if you are seeing the other monuments”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Looks like something out of the movie Fantasia. It is a small monument and the MLK Memorial is nearby. I would not go just for the DC War Memorial, but worth a stop when walking around seeing the other memorials and monuments.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank krazyhardrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Taxation without Representation”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Every time I run by this little memorial, I am reminded that DC residents pay taxes and serve our country, yet we are not granted voting representation in Congress. A travesty in a place that purports to be the greatest democracy on earth. The memorial was dilapidated for a long time, but was recently rehabilitated and is a lovely little spot on the mall off Independence Ave just across for the new MLK memorial.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SusannaRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“DC War Memorial”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Architecturally, I find this monument to be quite fine. When I last saw it, the place was in desperate need of renovation. I think this may have occurred but I have not seen it to verify any restoration. Many do not know where to even find this memorial because from the spring until the fall, it is obscured by leafy trees. Neither do many local residents know that this is a monument specifically for District citizens who died in the 'Great War' or World War I.

Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Thing of what it could be in it's day”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

A bit run down but very neat, just think of it in it's hayday with a band. Be carful where you walk as the ground is unlevel.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank krewerka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed District of Columbia War Memorial also viewed

 

Been to District of Columbia War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing