We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acqua al 2

Acqua al 2
Reserve with OpenTable
Acqua al 2 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Capitol Hill
Transit: Eastern Market Metro
Description: Acqua al 2's DC outpost brings the same authentic Tuscan cuisine you would find in it's home city of Florence, Italy. With a wide array of vegetarian pastas, hand-carved steaks, and fresh seafood, Acqua al 2 is perfect for a celebratory dinner, or casual dining al-fresco on the patio across from historic Eastern Market.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Capitol Hill used to be devoid af ANY good restaurants and we are lucking enough to have two very good Italian places right now. Acqua al 2 is most definitely one of them. House made pasta, incredible sauces and the freshest ingredients make this place a "must-do" if you're on the Hill. The service is outstanding and those folks know their wine. Very highly recommend this somewhat hidden jewel across from Eastern Market.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JED333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    99
    32
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

They made special accommodations for our anniversary! Service was impeccable! The food was great and reasonably priced. Fun and up and coming area of SW but it was difficult to get a taxi back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EuroShiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
225 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Arrived and quickly seated. Wine list is small but great price and good quality. Food is very enjoyable. Had the assortments. 3salads small portions but good flavor. Next 5 courses of pasta. Risotto was cooked perfectly. All pastas were excellent. Great variety of sauces, flavors and shapes. Next 3 steaks. Cooked to perfection some of the best steaks I have had I. A long time. The blueberry sauce was very good great subtle flavor. The best was the balsamic vinegar sauce. This was a wow course. Prices are very reasonable and the service was good. I can not wait to return.

Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIYADH
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Was not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Let me start by saying that the service was great, what did not impress me was the food, 3 of us ordered the fish of the day, and the plates left untouched, the fish tasted over seasoned and the herbs did not go right with the fish, we also ordered the sample platters, the pasta was undercooked. Saving grace was dessert and as i said before the great service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SOBHI E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is a bit unfair that I just got back from two weeks in Italy but Acqua was a disappointment. First be aware that the least expensive wine on the menu is $44. We ordered a Chianti that was ok but just not at all spectacular. Then we had the Insalata Caprese and Insalata Finocchio. For sure they were reasonably priced and looked good. I was amazed how the tomatoes in Italy were consistently so full of flavor even in December but these tomatoes were tasteless. The fennel was just odd. The pasta was very ordinary. Guess it unfair and maybe we just ordered the wrong thing but we will not go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acqua al 2 also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Acqua al 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing