We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute must when you visit DC”
Review of Walk of the Town

Walk of the Town
Ranked #2 of 145 Tours in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walk of the Town is DC's most memorable walking tour! Explore Washington DC the way it was meant to be seen:on foot! Let superb storyteller and licensed DC tour guide Tim lead you on a FREE tour of DC!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolute must when you visit DC”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I heard about Tim's tour from the information pack in our rental flat. When we arrived at the meeting point, Tim was very welcoming, as were the other walkers. On a very hot day, Tim managed to find us shade, tell some wonderful stories, and also keep everybody fully focused for the duration of the tour. A highlight was when Tim pointed out the extra security around, and said that 3 helicopters would be flying over and the President would be in one of them. Sure enough, the helicopter flew just over our heads. We could see the all the staff on the lawn to welcome President Obama.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JJenkins411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,340
    28
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Detailed tour”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Tim was very detailed in his tour. Hard to believe he works only for tips! When we first heard 3 hours we were a little unsure how our 2 teens would last but the walk was very nice with many stops to rest. Tim spoke loud enough for us all to hear everything and without disturbing those around us. He was very respectful of those visiting different monuments too. Thanks for so much information and keeping us entertained. Friends from Florida.

Helpful?
3 Thank GParrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waterfront Tour”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Informative, interesting, snacks, handouts. Tim knows his subjects well. You will receive information you would never get if walking on your own.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lottieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waterfront walk”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We did the waterfront walk with Tim and had a great experience. Our group included my 9 & 11 year old, along with a few others. Relatively small group, but a wide range of ages. The day was hot, as most summer days in DC tend to be, and there arent many spots to get a drink, so be sure to bring water. Tim did a great job of keeping us moving but engaged. I believe each of us felt like we were on our own personal tour. Wish we could have done the monuments tour, but I was glad to see all of the waterfront memorials that are more lightly attended.

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must see walking tour!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Tim was amazing! I am a Canadian and enjoyed learning lots of interesting things about my southern neighbours. The tour was not too strenuous and even thought the weather started out a little damp, it was a memorable experience. Thanks Tim!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ElSupremo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walk of the Town also viewed

 
 

Been to Walk of the Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing