We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxed walk with great info”
Review of Walk of the Town

Walk of the Town
Ranked #2 of 145 Tours in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walk of the Town is DC's most memorable walking tour! Explore Washington DC the way it was meant to be seen:on foot! Let superb storyteller and licensed DC tour guide Tim lead you on a FREE tour of DC!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“relaxed walk with great info”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I read the reviews on TripAdvisor. We do a lot of walking and wanted to see the monuments, so this fit our needs. It was a relaxing way to see the key monuments. We had a group of 10 and this was a good size. Tim is excellent - friendly, a lot of pertinent knowledge, kept us moving along while still giving us plenty of time to see and understand the monuments and memorials. We took our tour on Sunday morning on a perfect not hot nor humid day. It did get a bit crowded later in the morning as more busloads of tourists were unloaded from other tours. It is a "tips only" tour and I was concerned about how much would be enough. I hope I was generous enough as it is a very worthwhile experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FlyerInMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,319
    28
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cannot go wrong”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I cannot add much more to the glowing reviews that have been logged regarding this tour. Tim is so pleasant, courteous, well informed and cleverly strikes a balance between the needs of all participants, including our 3 young children.

Tim does not lecture but rather engages in a friendly and informative conversation with you that makes the stroll a very pleasant one.

You cannot go wrong

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbott, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow! What a great time!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

After reading other reviews on The Walk of the Town, I knew this would be a fantastic way to see and learn about the monuments and history of the US. Tim gave the most entertaining and informative tour. What a delightful man! You just can not get this kind of perspective from reading guides. I loved all the input from happenings at the time in history to the making of the memorials and even some of the controversy around them. We started at 10 and went till almost 2 PM. Eat a good breakfast, wear good walking shoes, and bring a camera. Excellent tour!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank windchaser4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun and educational, but definitely fun.”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We met Tim at the meeting point as agreed and he was so chatty. Tim likes his Presidential trivia so if you are not Americans (like we aren't) you may want to study who was the shortest etc beforehand to look knowledgeable. Tim took us to all the main sites and explained everything so well. He is a really likeable guide and was so helpful in explaining things. We have undertaken tip only walks in Prague, Budapest, Rome and New York and this was by far the best. Well done Tim and thank you.

Helpful?
Thank CharfieldPTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“This is the one to do...”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

As others have stated, this tour is the one to do. Tim was very informative, knowledgeable and entertaining. We ranked this as one of the high points of this trip. With Tim's input we gained a better understanding of the memorials and DC in general. Thanks Tim!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walk of the Town also viewed

 
 

Been to Walk of the Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing