We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Historic House” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The President Woodrow Wilson House

The President Woodrow Wilson House
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Dupont Circle and Embassy Row Architecture Tour
Ranked #73 of 418 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The well-preserved former house of President Woodrow Wilson.
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice Historic House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visited the Woodrow Wilson House on a Saturday afternoon. It was one house along a street and you wouldn't notice it if you weren't looking for it. We had to ring the bell to be let in and we arrived just as a tour was starting.

The tour lasted about 45 minutes and the guide provided interesting facts about the house and family. I enjoyed seeing each room and the items. The tour did not include the top floor, the servant's quarters.

I liked that the tour was rather small but would have enjoyed seeing the entire house and grounds. If you like historical homes such as those in Newport, RI, you will like this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyTravels720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah A, Manager at The President Woodrow Wilson House, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We think it would be fun to show the 4th floor servants area, too, and are looking into creating a "behind-the-scenes" tour for the future. We are glad you enjoyed the tour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    48
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
396 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour Guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is the house where the President and Mrs. Wilson moved to when they left the White House. President Wilson is the only president to live in Washington after leaving office. We arrived at 10:00 on a Tuesday morning. We were told there was parking on the street, but we didn't see much because a lot of foreign ambassadors live on that street and have reserved parking. Since we were the first ones to arrive, we were able to park in the space in front of the house which was marked two hour parking. Our tour guide greeted us and took us into the library to watch a 20 minute film. During the film, we were joined by a couple and their son. We then went from room to room on three levels of the house. The house has been maintained as it was in 1924 even though Mrs. Wilson lived there until 1961. About 85% of the items in the house belonged to the Wilsons. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable of the Wilsons as well as the house. This was a great tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pletzkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Misleading phone and website... Be warned!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I only got to see the foyer of the Woodrow Wilson house, because we arrived at 3:45 and the house closed at 4 pm. My husband called the house at noon to find out when the last tour was. There is only an automated phone system with no possibility of speaking to a live human. The automated system stated that there were tours every half hour from 10 am to 4 pm. When we arrived, we rang the doorbell. The guy inside stated the last tour was at 3:30 and they were already half done. He recommended we check out the gift shop. It took us an hour to get to the house from Mount Vernon. It added an extra hour to the trip and we have nothing to show for it. Yes, they have decent parking. However we are never going back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah A, Manager at The President Woodrow Wilson House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are so sorry that you did not receive a tour - this should never happen to anyone arriving before 4pm. We are taking steps to make sure it doesn't happen again! Thank you for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Peering Back Into American History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Tucked away in Embassy Row, this museum is a great little secret amongst the other crowded museums. My husband and I arrived just after opening on a Sunday & were privileged to be a part of only a group of 4 in the tour. The tour takes about an hour & begins with a very short clip in the gentleman's parlor. Our tour guide was excellent & very interesting. The tour gave me a glimpse into what kind of person Woodrow Wilson was. Definitely worth visiting. I wish I had done the tour sooner after all the visits I have taken to DC! The fee is $10/adult ($8/senior, $5/student) & there is a small museum store near the entrance,

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmericanExpeditioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Jewel of a Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is an off-the-beaten-path treasure in Washington, D.C. Our tour guide, Rich Goodwin, was superb. He has great depth of knowledge about Wilson and about the house. He is antecdotal, entertaining and informative. If you like history, he will make it come alive. Well worth the $10 fee in my estimation. There is even a nice little gift shop. The tour lasts for approximately one hour.

For an added bonus, walk around the neighborhood to see the many embassies, consulates and residences of ambassadors to the U.S. that are in the immediate vicinity.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GB4469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The President Woodrow Wilson House also viewed

 

Been to The President Woodrow Wilson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing