We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top five in D.C.”
Review of RIS

RIS
Reserve with OpenTable
RIS is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #166 of 3,229 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Cross street: 23rd
Transit: From Foggy Bottom Metro (Orange and Blue Lines) 1. As you exit the Metro, turn left onto 23rd Street. 2. At the traffic circle, take the 5th exit and continue on 23rd Street. 3. Walk one block. 4. Turn right at L Street NW. RIS will be across the street on the left.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Top five in D.C.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great food, service and ambiance. Even the bread was excellent; we usually stop after one basket but had to order a second. Mussel appetizer was perfect, as were the swordfish special and the scallops. Pear tart with saffron ice cream was fantastic. Prices are very reasonable for the high quality of the food. It has been a long time since we left a restaurant talking about how soon we would like to come back. Ris immediately went into our top five places to eat in D.C., and we have lived in the city for more than 30 years. Very highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    131
    40
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
275 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“OK, Service was Great”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This place had a nice atmosphere, a nice menu and great service. Unfortunately, the food was average, and the prices were not. the place had a nice buzz on Friday night, and was full of people having a good time. the menu was very diverse, and had great selections. The service was spot on. However, the kitchen did not execute the menu very well. Stick to the first course menu. I would not recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FromAway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Good but not great. Portions good size for the money, all tasty, creative menu, presented nicely, nice dining room, staff very good. Wasn't disappointed, but probably wouldn't return. Too many other good restaurants in DC

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank searchinggreatfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCLEAN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just delightful evening”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Dinner on the patio in good weather with an old friend. My picky diet restrictions (this to the side, please, none of that, can you substitute) didn't throw our waitress or the kitchen off for a minute and while I didn't have anything very exotic, there were ample choices of meat, seafood and veggies. Our waitress was friendly, efficient, knowledgable, helpful and never intrusive although whenever we needed her she was there like a shot. Terrific evening. Top notch service and excellent food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LocalVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I went with my family for my BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION and had an outstanding time... The service was absolutly top notch.. And the food was very tasty... Eveyone enjoyed loved there FOOD... I didnt think the evening could get any better BUT IT DID... ( I came in with my own cake the waiter took it in the back for safe keeping) ... At the end of our meal the they gave each person a piece of cake ,,, then CHEF/OWNER RIS LACOSTE CAME OUT THIS MINE and sung HAPPY BIRTHDAY... She was really down to earth, sat down at our table and took pics with us !!!! It was the BEST

Helpful?
Thank GiGi R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed RIS also viewed

 

Been to RIS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing