We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of RIS

RIS
Reserve with OpenTable
RIS is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #170 of 3,199 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Cross street: 23rd
Transit: From Foggy Bottom Metro (Orange and Blue Lines) 1. As you exit the Metro, turn left onto 23rd Street. 2. At the traffic circle, take the 5th exit and continue on 23rd Street. 3. Walk one block. 4. Turn right at L Street NW. RIS will be across the street on the left.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“fabulous lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Thank you, Trip Advisor! Walking from the GWU campus to shop in Georgetown, I pulled out the Trip Advisor app on my phone and realized Ris was two blocks away. Lunch was marvelous, from the blueberry sparkle spritzer to the salmon entree, to the wireless that allowed me to get some work done!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helene_UNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    124
    40
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
201 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Had lunch at Ris on the 9th July, 2013.

The food is refreshingly novel and worth a visit. This restaurant is on my list for a re-visit when time permits.

Great service from a wonderful team.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Franklyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sophosticated, upscale business lunch...affordable pricing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Found this gem close to my office. The 3 course pre fixed lunch menu was a perfect pairing. The staff was casually courteius and attentive. Glad I found them!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EXPENSIVE BUT WORTH IT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

What can I say, the food is simply amazing here. I cone for lunch mostly and they manage to get an amazing lunch out in time for me to make it back to the office. It's on the expensive side but for such great food it's a decent value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ris Rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Have wanted to go to this restaurant for ever ...since I heard of it opening in 2009, made it to dinner yesterday. It is a long haul from Australia! Excellent meal. Attentive service - Loved it when Ris (yes Ris in person) stopped at our table to chat...only interrupted by a couple wanting to congratulate her on their meal.....I loved the Bread and then Scallops Margarita (fantastic signature dish - did not want it to finish) and the Pepita (?) crusted Atlantic salmon..flavoursome, so fresh, great textures...and then the Peach Cobbler....with almond flakes in the ice cream...Coffee. Great meal, lots of laughs, warm welcome. Parking closeby and valet service....Great artwork on the walls...worth a look as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieJulie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RIS also viewed

 

Been to RIS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing