We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pheasant sausage!”
Review of Kushi Izakaya - CLOSED

Kushi Izakaya
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Mount Vernon Square
Cross street: 5th Street
Transit: Mt. Vernon Square Metro Gallery Place/Chinatown Metro
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pheasant sausage!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Wasn't expecting anything earth shattering but was happily surprised by their pheasant sausage! It was so good that I wished I'd order several orders of it by itself. But the chicken livers were very good too...just not as amazing compared to that sausage.

I think the cost was not ridiculous and the atmosphere was nice for after work chillin or a laid back date. I will definitely return...as long as they keep that sausage on the menu anyway :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    34
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not great, after many amazing meals”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I'm not sure if the ownership changed or if they got a new chef, but the menu was completely different and was not at all as good. In the past, this has been one of my favorite restaurants in DC, but on Saturday, it proved to be your typical overpriced, average meal, that DC has grown accustom to. I was pretty disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
706 reviews
498 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
“Miso Black Cod - to die for”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The skinny:

Parking- metered street
(Be advised, major construction in area)
Decor- traditional merging with anime
Service- friendly, quiet
Food- some amazing dishes
Price- $$$ but worth it
Bathroom- clean and sparse
Bonus- water jug on the table, no waiting for a server- so smart

What we ordered:
Hot green tea - excellent brew
Enringi mushrooms- woodsy flavor
Kara age- chicken perfectly fried but they served it with tonkatsu sauce which is not traditional
(Just use lemon)
Scallops- heavenly morsels!
Miso black cod- I'm not sure how long they marinate the fish or how they get it so silky in texture but it is the best dish on the menu
Salmon avocado roll- very good

The only disappointment was the beef donburi bowl. The usual preparation is thin slices of beef and onions cooked in a sukiyaki like sauce then served over rice. Here they cut the meat in thick chunks and they had no flavor- pass on this dish

Overall a great place to eat but bring your cash, it is $$$

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melobeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious and great service”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The food is fresh and delicious. Service was efficient, friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend Kushi!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant a local vibe awesome skewers”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I love Japanese food and love everything from Sushi to yakitori. We just looked this place up out of the blue when walking around DC. It is no where near anything touristy. When your eating here you are surrounded by the locals. The atmosphere is really unique. There are 2 3 bars in this restaurant. There is a Sushi bar, a regular bar, and a yakitori bar. We have sit behind a million sushi bars so it was nice to sit at the yakitori and see all the chefs grill. The service was ok, but this is not the kind of place you come for great service. You come here for great food and you wont be disappointed. We recommend anything with Duck on the menu it was truly delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sokolovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kushi Izakaya also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing