We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Totally different experience than several of the other reviews!”

DC Tours - Washington DC Hop-On-Hop-Off Double-Decker Bus Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour of Washington DC: Monuments, Landmarks and Memorials
Ranked #43 of 142 Tours in Washington DC
Attraction details
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow! Totally different experience than several of the other reviews!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My colleague and I caught an early flight to DC to do a little touring before our business assignment began on Tuesday. We selected Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour to 'see the city'. We were told by the hotel that the tour is 2-3 hours. We didn't get there until 3:00 but the tour operator told us the bus would be there in the next 4 minutes so wouldn't be an issue. The bus didn't get there until almost 4:00. There was NO 'live' guide - it was a recording. In fact, when we toured the back of the White House (the only view from the bus), everyone jumped when they blasted a lame recording of Hail to the Chief. We didn't get off of the bus because we knew we had limited time and were afraid there would not be another bus considering how late the 1st bus was. There has got to be a better tour of DC. I would not recommend Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank elitegal_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    92
    58
    59
    136
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Hop On Hop Off Bus Tour of Nation's Capitol”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

One only needs to hop on this tour bus to be reminded what a special place Washington DC is and what a special country we live in. The tour bus picked us up at Union Station and began its 2 hour journey through the countless sites to behold in Washington's government district. It was a perfect day in Mid April '13 when we decided take the journey. It cost a little more than I had expected but was worth every penny. Our tour guide (in-training), Matthew, was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable each site stop and give the tour bus riders good suggestions for exploring the sites once we got off the bus. The bus driver (in training), Michelle, coordinated the driving duties with Matthew as professionally as an airtraffic controller would a jet landing and Reagan Intl. The combination of these two working in such precise concert with one another made the trip efficent, fun and highly enjoyable. I would strongly recommend the tour (especially in you are able to get the dynamic duo) leading your journey through some of the most spectaluar sites the world has to offer.

Kudos to the Hop On Hop Off Bus Tour Team

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 321SteveS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestville MD
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cherry Blossom of Washington DC”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

These Cherry Blossom are out of this WORLD! Around the tidal basin and the Martin Luther kING STATUE. iT IS JUST BREATHTAKING!!! everyone should try to see the blossom in full color.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank smoothascanbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hop On - Hop Off”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We loved this portion of our trip...We took our granddaughters to Wash D.C. and one of the first things we did was ride a couple of laps around the city and listed our "Must Sees" for the next few days. It's a great way to get oriented and to make sure everyone is seeing and doing what they "had" to do! Worked like a charm....some things we all did together, some things we didn't and reviewed later, over-all we felt the time on the bus was great orientation and transportation at once! Very informative!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CHERYL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hop on Hop off double decker bus”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excellent customer service. The people who run the double deck bus were very helpful and made sure you got on the right bus. They took you around all the attractions of Washington DC. I will be using their services again. recommend it very strongly to anyone who needs transportation.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DC Tours - Washington DC Hop-On-Hop-Off Double-Decker Bus Tour also viewed

 

Been to DC Tours - Washington DC Hop-On-Hop-Off Double-Decker Bus Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing