We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of U.S. Capitol Visitor Center

U.S. Capitol Visitor Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
DC City Bus Tour with Reserved Monument Entry and Lunch
Ranked #48 of 418 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We almost missed this! we were taking pictures in front of Capital Hill didn't know we can actually visit the place. ( didn't do any homework as this is the last minute decision to visit DC) While we were walking towards the back of the building trying to find Supreme Court we spotted the visitor center and just walked in for some nice cool air as the weather is too hot to stay outdoor. Well, am I glad that there were so much to see in there! Since we are "walk-in" we are required to get the special passes which right on the left counter and the next minute we were in the line for an IMAX for the introduction ( something like that, lol) the next thing is a tour guide from the Hill walking us with other visitors to the Rotunda, the Crypt and Statuary Hall. After this tour we were told there is a tunnel to Library of Congress, this is a beautiful building, the architecture, the lighting made you wanted to stay there. There is a second floor which can go to a small section of third floor for "view the reading room". Looking down to the reading room, it is really beautiful! After that, we have to walk to the other building ( forgot the name) to get a special pass to get in to the House Gallery. It was really awesome as I get to sit inside the Gallery, only on the top sections. In order to go to the floor level, I have to apply a pass from my district senator, take 6 months. If would be the same procedure if anyone wanted to visit the White House. So, never mind.. For the Supreme Court, it was under renovation, we didn't bother to walk over.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MenglembuMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    217
    68
    30
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“August 24th - a day to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

August 24th - our wedding anniversary and also the anniversary of the British burning down the Capitol buildings - which the guide pointed out whenever possible, especially after learning there were a couple of Brits in the party!! bsolutely fascinating, including the short intro film about the history of Cogress etc. Really awesome architecture and statuary, knowledgable and fun guides, great tour for all the family.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Familycat022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our tour of the Capitol was wonderful! The tour is free and offers great information!

Our tour guide absolutely made the tour memorable. She was so knowledgeable with GREAT stories that made the tour less educational-boring and more educational-interesting! haha. We had a great time checking out all the rooms of the Capitol and hearing great facts about what went on in each. Two thumbs up!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank coopmke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

A family of 5 enjoyed the tour - although having the tour over the weekend does not include seeing the actual debate halls.
Still - the tour starts with a nice movie and continues up into the dome of the capitol.
Need to reserve in advance

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank oritkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful center.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Although admission to the visitor center is free, if you want to tour the Capitol you will need a reservation. We contacted our State Senator about 4-5 months in advance to apply and obtain a tour reservation. Tour was incredible, lots of information. Make sure to visit the Exhibition hall . . . my grandson enjoyed the "Hands on" computer area. Great teaching tool. Center has a restaurant and gift shops. Also, it has an underground tunnel to the Library of Congress.

Note: any bag you are carrying LARGER than 14" wide x 13" high x 4 deep is PROHIBITED.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mz_Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Capitol Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Capitol Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing