We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you expect”

BGR The Burger Joint
Ranked #473 of 3,238 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Description: Voted "Best Burger Restaurant in DC" by Business Insider. Voted "Best Burger Restaurant in DC" by Washingtonian Magazine. Voted "Best Burger Patty" by Washington Post. BGR The Burger Joint is helping lead the better burger market with a menu designed around our commitment to using only the highest quality ingredients. BGR's menu is designed around an exclusive blend of Prime, Dry-aged burgers, grilled over an open flame. Menu offerings include burgers, veggie burger, grilled chicken, turkey burger, lamb burger, ahi tuna burger, hot dog, kids meals, regular fries, sweet potato fries, onion rings, asparagus, handspun shakes, side salads, lettuce wraps, salad bowls and beer/wine and other seasonal specialties. Gluten Free options include: regular fries, sweet potato fries, side salad, salad bowl (any burger on a salad), lettuce wrap, asparagus.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Everything you expect”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is an honest burger joint. We had carry out after a long day sight seeing. The burgers matched the descriptions perfectly and were outstanding. Would defiantly recommend for a meaty burger fix.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dog-squad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    79
    30
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Clean with a friendly staff. Walking distance of our hotel. Reasonable pricing with kid friendly and healthy choices.

Helpful?
Thank Meghan D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Have been a few times now and every time the food has been great. Burgers are great and cooked exactly as requested. Service can be a little slow, but the wait is worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zathras777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pricey burgers, average taste”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

In a town full of good burger places, the bar is pretty high. Alas, BGR is on the high end on pricing, but the food is just average. Love the early 80s feel to the place, and wanted to like it more, but I can think of about 5 places within a mile with a better product for less $$.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of food, decent price”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The burger joint was a great ending to our day. We both ordered a burger and fries not knowing how big the portions were. The food was excellent despite the amount of food we were served. You can also add toppings to your fries..parm cheese, garlic, or rosemary. I had the garlic and it was yummy, my hubby the parm cheese and they were good to!! Great family atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BGR The Burger Joint also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to BGR The Burger Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing