We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“National Geographic Museum dissapointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Geographic Museum

National Geographic Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Ranked #77 of 418 things to do in Washington DC
Attraction details
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“National Geographic Museum dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have always loved everything National Geographic since I was a kid so when I heard about the museum I forced my whole family to go with me. The small exibition of photographs was interesting but overall was pretty boring and family was disappointed and kinda mad at me. When you are in DC with so much to do and see, I would not waste an afternoon here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SCTravelmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    189
    99
    59
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
167 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Make time for this small, interesting museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you have time after all the other "must-do" sites in DC, make sure to spend an hour or two at this interesting, evocative and manageable museum close to DuPont Circle. The exhibits are usually a broader and more in-depth view of a story you may have seen in their magazine. The 2 current exhibits, one celebrating their 125th year anniversary in photo's, films, a display of every cover from #1 to current and other displays containing various innovative equipment used in their explorations over the years. The other exhibit showcased the works of 11 female photographers that have had featured articles in the magazine with insights to their passion for their subjects/art and their thought process behind their approach to photography; very interesting.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank hanleydouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
160 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I was expecting more,I guess it depends on the current exposition.Its kind of like the Discovery Museum where they rotate exhibits.The photos were interesting,and there were a few interesting artifacts on display.Allow 1 1/2-2 hours

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank tojo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
703 reviews
322 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Fairly interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Sited in the Palatial building of the National Geographic Society, this Museum has a permanent section and a temporary exhibit section currently devoted to female reporters for the magazine.
The latter is well displayed and interesting although the voice overlay is superfluous as the pictures are meant to speak for themselves.
The permanent portion could be improved upon as the long and distinguished history of the Society is too abridged.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great exhibits that appeal to both travelers and photographers alike! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

If you're like me, you remember flipping through National Geographic magazine in awe of what the world outside of your reality has to offer. I was six years old the first time I remember thumbing through the magazine in awe of all the vibrancy each page offered. Here at the museum during our visit they showcased a collection of women photographers journeys throughout the world. Each and every picture and description was emotional in a way that captured you as a viewer. It allowed me to feel like the once six year old who was in awe when I first saw the magazine's pictures. The new age collection was fascinating as well. To see the making of the society and how it became what it is today and to experience through words, videos, audio presentations and photos how photographers of the past and present capture these amazing pictures was beautiful. This is I ne of my absolute favorite museums in Washington, D.C.

Helpful?
2 Thank Belle1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Geographic Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Geographic Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing