We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Grab a Craft Brew”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Churchkey

Churchkey
Ranked #155 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Logan Circle/ Shaw
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place to Grab a Craft Brew”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

What an awesome bar if you want to have a few drinks with friends. It's a little small which did mean we had to wait for seats to open up but totally worth it. The feel of the place is perfect and the bartenders were friendly. There's a huge selection of beer to choose from and they come in 2 sizes. There is also an assortment of wine and cocktails. The only reason I didn't give it an excellent review is because I wasn't too keen on the food menu. It is small and in my opinion some of the dishes are overpriced. The portions are a tad small on some of the dishes. I would definitely go again for a few drinks and appetizers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rnbw_bryte2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    92
    36
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go for the beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This place has a great beer selection, with different size pours for the drafts making it easy to try a number of different things! When we went on Saturday evening the place was slammed, but the staff was really polite and never made us feel rushed. The beer is definitely the star here, so I would suggest getting a drink and maybe a snack (the fig and prosciutto flatbread and disco fries are great), or better yet get a drink at Churchkey before your reservations at Birch and Barley downstairs!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krcbneu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
209 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Lively bar with fantastic draught beer choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

This place seems to be busy every night of the week - and I'm not surprised given the amazing choice of draught beers and the lively atmosphere! Between our group we tried several of the beers and they were all very good. The "Boston Lager" was very popular. I didn't eat personally, but my colleagues ate in the downstairs restaurant and were very impressed with the food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank la_viajera_constanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vast and Delicious Beer Selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

This place is really wonderful. The bartenders are present, meaning they actually pay attention to who is requesting another drink.

Cons:
This place gets really busy on Friday evenings (probably other evenings too), so it's best to get there around 430 or earlier if you want a seat.

Pros:
The seated customers are observant of those who are waiting. When my husband and I were standing at the bar, a group that was getting up called to us to tell us they were leaving so we could take their seats. Very nice!
The bottled beer selection is vast and can be expensive - but this makes sense for small business craft brewers (which they have a book full of them).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank September123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Loved the selection of beers - even more, loved the selection of ciders! 40+ and wide variety. Also had great food. I would love to go back and try every item on the menu.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThePassionLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churchkey also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Churchkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing