We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic beer selection.”
Review of Churchkey

Churchkey
Ranked #163 of 3,213 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Logan Circle/ Shaw
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic beer selection.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lots of places promise lots of beer on tap, but it's almost always the usual suspects available at most bars (just not all at once), with the occasional strange choice. This is not the case at Churchkey. If you're feeling like a beer-centered evening, Churchkey is a good choice. Our waiter was very helpful in making recommendations, and the menu is arranged by taste profile, not brewing method. Thus, while you may not know the difference between an IPA, Belgian White, and a Barleywine, you don't have to. You just have to know what kind of flavor you're looking for, as the descriptions are very thorough and helpful.

The food is pretty good, and relatively reasonably priced, though not remarkable.

Note, while having the option to get a 4oz pour of a beer you're not sure you'll like is nice, realize the full glass options are of varying sizes due to the fact Churchkey uses the "correct" glass for the beer you choose. That glass may be anywhere between 8 to 16 oz. Consequently, the $7 beer may not be as cheap as you think it is.

One final word on the service. We were fortunate enough to land a table on a busy Friday night, and at no point did we feel rushed by the waiter to vacate, even after we had closed out and were finishing up our last drinks. He was also very accommodating when it came to splitting the check up by percentages on various cards.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jmuskratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    95
    36
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food, Not good service”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Been 3 times and had good food each time nd generally bad to lost service. They are generally nice but seem to struggle to get it to you

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Notorius66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Craft Beer at it's Best”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

So as I've never been to their connected restaurant, Birch & Barley, this review is strictly regarding Churchkey itself.
Brilliant. A really great selection of craft beers. Both tapped and bottled. If you get in and get a seat, it's a great place to sit and get pretty well done off really good beer. If you ever need a recommendation, you can always, always talk to the bartenders about it. Even at their busiest, they're nothing but pleasant, kind and more than willing to give recommendations. And they do know their beer. They give the kind of advice that's helpful to someone who knows beer as well. So.....awesome.
I just wish that they'd get some really wicked awesome bar shirts to sell. I'd totally buy one. It's the kind of place that you want to talk about having gone to.......in shirt-form. Heh heh. Anyhow, yeah. All thumbs up. Thanks for making each visit worthwhile, guys!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainAwethume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staff Incredibly Knowledgeable”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My friend and I went here after we had a beer tasting class at living social on F street. It has a very neat atmosphere. We sat at the bar and we were greeted right away by the bar tender (forget the name all i know is that I saw two of him there so they must be twins). I had not heard of most of the beers but i wanted an IPA and he suggested one and it was great. His suggestions for beer were all spot on. The menu is a bit limited but the flat-breads are amazing! I shall be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
576 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Spectacular Beer Knowledge”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went on a Sunday so that I could get a Chicken Luther (noon to 8 pm). It's not on the menu, but has been mentioned as one of the best sandwiches in America. I don't know about that, but it was certainly good enough - a fried chicken filet on a sweetish donut-type roll with pecans on the top of it. The french fries were as good as I've had. Another diner thoroughly enjoyed the Bratburger (agreeing with me about the fries). A third diner was not as taken with his breakfast sandwich (sausage and egg). The menu included 50 beers on tap, five cask ales, what we understood to be 40 ciders and roughly 500 bottled beers. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and spent time to discuss our selections with us. Service was very good, and pricing was reasonable. There's a large, steep flight of stairs for entry that some may find daunting, and parking is absolutely impossible in this neighborhood. We had a ten minute walk in the cold.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ace4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churchkey also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Churchkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing