We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 36 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bonn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at this b&b for a weekend i Washington. It was an excellent choice (and I have stayed in b&bs many times before, so I have some experience). Keith is a great host, the house is beautiful (we had the Terrace Room), and the location is very convenient - about 15-20min walk from major attractions (White House, National Galleries of Art, Smithonians), and about 5 min or less from a metro station. There is a grocery store around the corner.

I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: The bathroom of the Terrace Room is down a flight of stairs but we found this to be no problem. Keit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanneBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    34
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
98
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This lovely restored historic B&B was our perfect choice for DC. Our host Kevin greeted us and showed us around the beautiful marble and polished wood lobby, living room, breakfast room and our very spacious State Room with warmth and efficiency. We so appreciated Kevin's offer of red and white wine, which was delcious and relaxing, and which he brought to us in our room. We loved the 6-spigot shower and 10-spigot whirlpool bath. Loved them! Read for awhile very comfortably in the loveseat and the armchair, and slept very well. Breakfast was delightful. (Plenty of good, rich coffee!) served family-style, shared with interesting guests for conversation. We will absolutely return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at the Mount Vernon Square bed and breakfast because it was highly rated, and I was disappointed in almost every respect. My room was on the third floor, but my bathroom was on the second floor. I would have liked to have been warned. The neighborhood is dubious, with absolutely nothing to offer. Going anywhere involves a very long walk - - not 15 minutes as the proprietor always answered - - but double that. No, it is not near the National Gallery; nowhere near the Smithsonian etc. etc. Breakfast was weak coffee, rubbery pancakes served with cheap syrup and iffy looking butter. The room was pleasant enough, though the lumpy mattress was unfortunate. There was also a staircase to the attic right in the room which was disconcerting. The attic was an open construction site, and being exposed to that space felt strange. I wish I had been warned. The house itself is charming and clean, but none of that makes up for the rest of the problems. I never thought it would be necessary to have to ask if I would have to walk down a flight of steps to go to the bathroom. What a disappointment!

Room Tip: Avoid the room without a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The location is within walking distance to the National Mall and the White House. The breakfasts were excellent every morning. Keith is very helpful in recommending restaurants and places to visit. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Spent three nights here. Loved the location - 15 minutes to the National Mall, 2 blocks to the Metro. The neighbourhood is undergoing revitalization and will no doubt continue to improve. Could benefit from a few more restaurants in the immediate area. Breakfasts were yummy and other guests interesting. At one of the breakfasts, 4 countries were represented. Room large, bed great, sitting area a plus and a TV a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

After spending a few years living in DC, I wanted a weekend trip back that avoided the traditional hotel environment. This B & B is in a great location-central to downtown and the national mall, but also convenient to other areas of DC as well. The decor is incredible and is is very well maintained. The architecture itself is really interesting and you find yourself imagining what the history of the space might have been. The owners run the business, and they are extremely accommodating and friendly. The rooms have themes that are very well done. Also, the price really puts this place over the top. I hope that doesn't change. You basically get a 4 star space for a 2 star price...and you avoid the crowds. If you are looking for a couples getaway, this place would be a really nice home base for DC.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bombay suite...it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently stayed at Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast and I can't say enough wonderful things about this charming B&B. The location can't be beat, we arrived at Regan airport, took the Metro from there and only had to walk a few blocks to arrive at MVSBB. No need for a car, we walked everywhere. Breakfast served each morning was delicious and conversation with the other guests was always a nice way to start each day. We chose the Terrace room and had a peek-a-boo view of the Capitol - so cool! Keith is awesome, it is obvious he loves what he does and he is the perfect host. Next time our travels bring us to the DC area we will be sure to stay at Mt. Vernon Square B&B it was truly perfection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoDee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#86 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,909 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast
Address: 400 M St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4606
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mt. Vernon Square Bed & Breakfast is an elegant downtown hub for your business or tourist activities three blocks from the Washington, DC Convention Center and a leisurely ten minute walk to the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums and other attractions. Our building's exterior makes a statement and it only gets better when you enter. The extensive wood work, marble floors, 11 ft. ceilings, and stained glass compliment the tasteful décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Vernon Square b&b
Mt. Vernon Square Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing