We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Top spot in DC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Top spot in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was an oasis during what was a hot stay in DC for the two of us. Beautifully presented and maintained, this classy B&B was a great base for seeing the sights and returning to when the summer sun just got too hot. Keith is a great host, willing to share his local knowledge and point you in the right direction for a great meal while eager to test his new breakfast dishes on adventurous guests. The room was just right and our three nights passed by so quickly. In summary, a great place to stay, nice and safe location, close to the metro and near enough to the sights and attractions for those who prefer to walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelson7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    37
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
101
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My friend and I recently spent four nights at the MVSBB and loved it. We were greeted warmly by our host, Keith, and given a quick tour of the house. It is beautiful! We stayed in the Copper room and it was large enough for 2 women to spread out easily. There is a small balcony in the back of the house that is accessible from the room. The night of our arrival there was a thunder and lightning storm and we pulled up the chairs on the balcony and watched the show!
The highlight was the morning breakfast. Every meal was a bit different. We were served the famous french toast, waffles, and a very yummy eggs benedict on jalapeno cornbread. A great way to start the day.
If you need any tip or tricks or suggestions, be sure to ask Keith. He can give you all kinds of help in planning your time in DC.
I highly recommend the MVSBB!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntz4bbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans WV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We spent three nights at Mt. Vernon Square B&B. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and well-appointed. Keith is an excellent host and made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were delicious, especially the banana pancakes! Oh, and the cornbread and the eggs with spinach and feta cheese...Yum!! As for the location, how perfect! The house is a block away from a large grocery and a wonderful restaurant, and the Metro is a short three-block walk through a lovely neighborhood of historic townhouses. Union Station is nearby as well. This is an ideal location as a base for exploring Washington DC for adults, but probably not for children.....the temptation to slide down the stair bannister might just be too much!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RufusSaintAlbansWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Burke, Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the Mt Vernon Square B&B and were more than happy with the experience. When we arrived we were shown to our room (the Terrace Room) and given a beer and a glass of wine to relax with after traveling all day from Arizona. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was top of the line. Our dietary restrictions were honored and still a tasty full spread was provided.

The Mt Vernon Square B&B is a short walk from the Metro, giving you easy accesss to all of DC. Also a short walk to the Starbucks and Safeway. Keith was very knowledgable of the area and had great suggestions for dining and entertainment.

MVS B&B made our short stay special and memorable.

I would highly recommend you avoid the chain hotels and give the Mt Vernon Square B&B. You won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: The Terrace Room is a great place to sit and relax while looking over the city. At night you can sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had wonderful long weekend stay. Keith was so hospitable! Great location, convenient to midtown. Breakfast was outstanding! There is a bit of noise from traffic. The decor is very nice. Our Terrace Room had a - terrace, on which we would relax after a day of sightseeing, or in the morning before breakfast. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morty_Meekle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I visited Washington DC last year,August 2011, a gift from my boyfriend to celebrate my birthday. I stayed at Mt Vernon bed and breakfast and was pleasantly surprised of the hospitality and the how well this place felt like a home away from home. I was apprehensive when we pulled up because it is situated in a residential area but was in awe once we got inside. It was very clean and neat..."homey" if you will. The room was big and the bathroom clean. It's a comfortable place to stay. Breakfast was great and the hosts Keith and his wife were beyond nice. They were so hospitable. Unfortunately, due to something unforseen, I got so sick I spent 3 days in bed. I got served breakfast in bed, by the way, because I could not make it to the dining room. The hosts felt so bad that I didn't get to see the sights due to my illness, they offered me an extra night on the house. I was so grateful for their generous offer. It was unexpected. If I'm ever in DC again, even if I'm not staying overnight, I will definately stop by to say hello because the owners were just so nice and hospitable. This venue is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 69Kam-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

we came to town to see the american idol tour at the mci center. we loved keith, the bedroom and restroom, and the location downtown. breakfast was very nice as well as the cold beer Keith offered after our 4 hour drive. will come back again and again. felt very comfortable there

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joestel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#68 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast
Address: 400 M St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4606
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mt. Vernon Square Bed & Breakfast is an elegant downtown hub for your business or tourist activities three blocks from the Washington, DC Convention Center and a leisurely ten minute walk to the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums and other attractions. Our building's exterior makes a statement and it only gets better when you enter. The extensive wood work, marble floors, 11 ft. ceilings, and stained glass compliment the tasteful décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Vernon Square b&b
Mt. Vernon Square Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing