We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big bus tours”
Review of Gray Line DC

Gray Line DC
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and Arlington National Cemetery Tour
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Washington DC in a Day Tour
Ranked #50 of 145 Tours in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gray Line DC Tours provides numerous sightseeing opportunities in and around the Washington, DC area. Full-Day, Two-Day and Get-Away tours give you access to the many of the must-see locations, and charters provide groups with the opportunity for a private experience. Our drivers are also licensed tour guides for the city, and provide an enjoyable, entertaining and educational atmosphere. Gray Line DC: Truly the Local Expert!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We purchased a 48 hr ticket and loved day one, going on the blue, yellow and green lines. However the second day on the red line was crowded, with a long wait for a bus in the morning. As we ran out of time for the cruise it wasn't really with doing the two day option. BUT we decided to do the night tour and it was fantastic. Seeing all the sights again at night with a live expert commentary was a terrific way to end our stay. Driver Anna and tour guide Ralph were wonderful.

1  Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartzGroup, Marketing Coordinator at Gray Line DC, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for choosing Gray Line DC. Gray Line DC’s Open Top Tour is the bestselling tour in DC and therefore we experience large volume of customers at times. We are glad you enjoyed the tours and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Gray Line DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 240 of 296 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

2nd visit to DC last visit had Old Town Trolleys. Fantastic service. This time choose Gray Line because it stopped outside our hotel. Big Mistake. It was a hot September day and did not want to sit up top. Usually no seats available anyway! One bus came and the seats were wet because the AC was leaking. Another bus the AC did not work. All buses were packed & don't they come in 20 minutes. Never happened! They need more buses and improved commentary. Definitely won't try again! A complete waste of money. Feel ripped off and very disappointed a outfit like this is allowed to operate.

Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Ok, let's start positive - the view was good and the bus was clean.

The not so good:

1. Poor Commentary. Unless my history is very much mistaken Italy was not on America's side as a steadfast ally, neither was Japan. The American Indian museum is not marble, and Amelia Earhart's plane is real not a replica.

2. Service levels: buses infrequent and waited ages, plus at connections buses not timed to allow route changeovers. On on occasion waited over half hour and saw two trolley tours pass but no bug red bus - gave up and got taxi.

3. Offers a free cruise. Was told this ran every hour, but actually does not start until 12.00.

4. Buses were often so full there was not enough room on top deck for all who wanted it. Related to the service level issue.

5. Staff unhelpful - went to get on a bus that pulled up, to be curtly told not in service. On asking when next would arrive was told he didn't know as he'd only just got there.

All in a very disappointing and overpriced experience.

Thank Rory76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartzGroup, Marketing Coordinator at Gray Line DC, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience. We are sorry that you feel that the service did not meet your expectations and we would be grateful if you could contact us at info@opentopsightseeing.com as we would appreciate learning a little more about your experience. We work very hard to try and ensure that all of our tours are delivered to the highest standards, however, sometimes things do go wrong and when they do, we would like to be able to ensure that they do not happen again and we look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

booked a single day for 2 and ended up waiting over 55 min. for the bus to come by at the Ford Theatre. It never showed. Ealier at Lincoln Memorial, the bus was so jammed that they were turning people away that hads already waited 40 min. The female driver was stressed out and it showed. Ican' t blame her. This is a poorly run company in need of new ownership and new ideas. We had a bus come by that was fully loaded (red line) and 5 min later, an almost empty bus (red line ) shows up and there was no one at the stop. They had all jammed into the other bus. Don't they have radios or a central dispatch? What a waste of money. We ended up walking back to our hotel (Holiday Inn Capitol) and never saw a bus until the aerospace museum where we were suppose to end our trip. I also saw an elderly woman who was ikn a panic because she hadn't seen a red line bus in over an hour. Good thing it was daylight.

Thank steve_g41528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartzGroup, Marketing Coordinator at Gray Line DC, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us; we work very hard to try and ensure that every one of our passengers has a memorable and enjoyable experience. In order to address your specific issues, we would request that you contact us at info@opentopsightseeing.com as we would like to know more about the troubles you had with the service. Our service is planned to operate with a regular frequency; sometimes there are circumstances out of our control which do delay buses or cause gaps in the service but these are usually manageable and we would be grateful if you could contact us to provide more details so that we can investigate the circumstances surrounding the delays on the day that you experienced our tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Thought this would be a good way to see the sights then go around again & get off at the stops we wanted to see. Wrong - we went on the Red Line - took ages to get round got back to the train station and went to get lunch and got back on the bus again to go to the Hard Rock for soveniers, we mooched our way towards the old Post Office Building which is now a dismal shopping area and walked back up the road to get the bus back to the station. I saw the bus coming & waved to flag it down but the female driver refused to stop and the bus was jam packed. We then waited with another family who had not been allowed to get on the bus at the previous stop & had walked down to the next stop and we old sat/stood and watched trolley bus after trolley bus go by no Big Red Buses even though "they go by every 20 minutes" eventually another jam packed one came along the route, at least 1 hour and 30 minutes since the previous one. We got on, questioned the surly unhelpful driver and was told "we got problems" no apology, no reason. Was going to complain and ask for a partial refund when we got back to the concession at the station but it had closed and they had gone home for the night.
What an expensive non event this was - wouldn't recommend or use them again.

1  Thank FrequentVirgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartzGroup, Marketing Coordinator at Gray Line DC, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Gray Line DC tries to meet the expectations of all our guest and I apologize that was not the case. Gray Line DC’s Open Top Tour is the bestselling tour in DC and we try very hard to keep the buses running at intervals of 15 to 20 minutes during the peak season. Most of the time, we meet or exceed that standard. We will look closely at what may have caused this problem and try to correct it in the future. Please feel free to contact Melissa Badami directly if you have any more information that could help up fix this problem; mbadami@martzgroup.com. Gray Line offers the widest variety of tours to meet the customers’ interest. We have motor coach tours that are truly climate controlled and extremely comfortable, affording you a great view of the city, monuments and memorials. A licensed tour guide takes you through the city entertaining and informing you. These tours allow you to see the most of the city with the least amount of walking and waiting, as the bus is waiting for you when you are done experiencing each location. If there is anything we can do to show you the Gray Line cares please contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Line DC also viewed

 

Been to Gray Line DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing