We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duo Never Disappoints!”
Review of Duo Housing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Duo Housing
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at Duo Housing early 2012 for the first time and instantly fell in love with the relaxed atmosphere and the staff. I returned last month and was not disappointed!!

Pros:
staff
cleanliness
bedding
lounge areas
outdoor decks

Cons:
No free food :-(
no drinking after 10pm
upstairs deck closes at 7pm (but the downstairs one stays open!!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagoBoBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 253 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Duo housing is one of the cheapest ( but Aldo central) places to stay in Washington DC. The place is very clean ( they ask you to take off your shoes before entering) and is nice. Bedrooms are large and very clean, toilets are ok. We also had free food (hamburgers and hot dogs) on Sunday night. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AleBoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This hostel has a more controlled atmosphere. The owner keeps tight control. However, that may be a good thing because of such control, this is a good hostel to get your "feet wet" in the world of hostel travel. Some other hostels have little to no rules, and because of it, it may be dirty, or hard to sleep. I enjoyed my stay, I followed the rules and everything worked out. This is not a party hostel. I met some great people here however, and we partied outside the hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clubandfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a very good place to stay. This is a very nice and clean place with very friendly staff. I think this is the best hostel I've stay in the USA. The location is excellent, it is near the National Mall. I recomend the hostel, I think it's ideal for young travellers that are travelling alone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was looking for a cheap, secure place to stay during my travel to DC. I was apprehensive about this hostel before I arrived but after I got here I really liked the place. I stayed for two nights in a mixed 12 bedroom dorm room without any concern, issue or fear. The staffs were great, the place is clean and conveniently located near Downtown DC. Of course if you are looking for a relaxing, leisure place with comfort this is not the place to be. There are lots of people, international young students mostly who are just passing through or looking for a cheap safe place. If you are a student or someone looking for a place that is secure and comfortable enough in a cheap price, this is the place to be. My fears about living in a mixed dorm (as I'm a girl and not from US) were all put to rest. I am thankful that there are cheap and good alternative like Duo Housing for people like me.

Room Tip: If you book beforehand, you will get all male and all female dorms on the upper floors which are air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeemaRai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The first couple of nights I thought this hostel lacked a bit in atmosphere. Alot of people were mostly just staying in their rooms. But the last night was good fun with people having a few drinks in the kitchen. I thought it strange that you have to take off your shoes before entering, but this seems to be the norm in DC. It's in a good location and easy to get around.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank aoife_ob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I spent 5 AWESOME days there with guests REALLY friendly! The staff are very welcoming and the atmosphere is FANTASTIC. The price is fair and the location is also good (near to Georgetown-museums-monuments), you can do everything walking. There is a grocery store close by and also 2 liquor stores at the block, so you can eat and drink very cheap! The only problem: it is very hard to take a hot shower there! Also, don`t be full with the breakfast, if you get 2 pancakes you are very luck!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LigiaRayane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Days Inn Washington DC / Connect...
#122 of 142 in Washington DC
1,889 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#126 of 142 in Washington DC
210 reviews
HI Washington DC Hostel
#1 of 46 in Washington DC
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Washington Hostel
#5 of 46 in Washington DC
164 reviews
Adams Morgan
HighRoad Hostel DC
HighRoad Hostel DC
#3 of 46 in Washington DC
84 reviews
DC Lofty
#17 of 46 in Washington DC
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duo Housing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duo Housing

Address: 1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4217
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range: $25 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Duo Housing 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All brand new!! New bathrooms! New media room! Cleanest rooms in dc! (Thanks to our "no shoes in house" and "no food in bedrooms" policies! ) Check out what makes Duo Housing THE #1 Choice for travellers! We provide the MOST FREE Amenities of any Hostel in DC! Duo Housing is just MINUTES away from nightlife, tourist attractions, and shopping! Less than 2 blocks to the Metro Rail! Come see why everyone LOVES Duo Housing DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Duo Housing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duo Housing Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing