We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre unfriendly antisocial culture”
Review of Duo Housing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duo Housing
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Ok, the staff are strange. They are exceptionally unwelcoming as they sit there in groups having loud personal conversations just between them, it made me feel like an intruder even though I was paying to be there. The no shoe policy is gross, and the place has this constant smell.
I found the people staying in the hostel very antisocial. Difficult to make friends as a solo traveller.
Is it that hard to have a few maps and brochures?
The bunks are metal and are noisy when the other person moves. They really cram the room with beds.
The social areas and kitchens are well equipped and comfortable. Shame there was no one interesting to talk to.
The womens bathroom is one room with 4 showers, no where to store your clothes as you shower, making the whole operation really hard to be descrete.
Overall though, it's cheap. I wouldn't come back but its survivable if your on a budget ad enjoy your own company

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kellypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 253 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights a week ago. Whilst it's nothing special, it was fine for a couple of days sightseeing. Our 8 bed dorm had comfy beds, a lot of bedding, air con and outlets that worked. The bathrooms were very modern and very clean. Whilst we didn't utilise the common space, the two lounges seemed quite decent (one with a tv and wii) and there was a small kitchenette where people could prepare food. There was also a nice deck at the top of the building although you weren't allowed alcohol up there.

The staff were reasonably helpful although they had a bit of a weird way of checking us in. Small lockers are available (decent size for a couple of 13 inch laptops and documents/phones or a 15 inch one if put diagonally) - bring your own lock. There were free laundry facilities too available for use in the evening - but only one washer and one dryer. Free wifi.

My only complain would be that our room seemed a bit small for the number of people - aside for putting stuff under beds, there was not much space for storing backpacks..

If I could give this place 3.5 stars I would - it's not quite 4 stars but I feel it's better than average for a hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachelBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

For the money you pay you can't expect much from this hostel, which is good because you don't get much. Staff are generally unhelpful, when asked for directions we were just told to look on the computer ourselves. Not really any hostel activities to speak of, although they did have a bbq on the 4th july which was actually fun.
Beds are awful!! Don't expect a good nights sleep on them.
General cleanliness is average, normally depends on which member of staff is working to be honest.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights. the hostel is on of few that we could find, we went with is becuase it was cheap for a private room about $60 a night. although it was cheap i expected it to be clean, the private room was disgusting, i had my own dettol wipes which i used to clean the window ledge, there was a towel under the radiator which looked like it had been there for years and the dust and hair on the floor knocked me sick. the location is great within walking distance of everything and there was a kitchen that was good. there were stupid rules like taking off your shoes in the house when it so untidy already doesnt make sense to me. the staff were friendly and the sheets were clean, we only used it for a bed so it was ok but i definately would not recommend anyone to stay here unless maybe your just stopping for a night

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank gill023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This is the second hostel I ever stayed in. I found it had a homely atmosphere and wasnt as bad as i imagined. I slept well and found it clean enough, just what I needed for a couple of nights. I think it's for someone who is really independent as they dont arrange trips or anything, its like a house converted into a hostel. Staff were friendly and even wrote me a little note on my birthday, atmosphere was relaxed. I would probably stay here again but only for a night or 2.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel17982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This hostel is on the fringe of the newly developed Chinatown/Gallery Place. Note that I said on the fringe, which means at nights there are people loitering around the place and its nearby location to the police station (only half a block away) absolutely guarantees that you will be waking up to the police siren every few hours. But it does give you convenient access to many popular sites in Washington, DC via various public transit, which is why I am giving its location 3 stars.

The staff here, Brandon, Kieran, and Katy, are all friendly people, but that's about it. Brandon thinks it's totally ok to make racist jokes at any time he wants because he is black, and that makes stupid racist people from Europe think it is totally ok to make blatant racist comments in front of other people's faces. Kieran's idea of cleaning up the common room is to spray the tables in the room twice with pledge, wipe it dry once with a dirty rag, and move on to the next room. His idea of cleaning up the bathroom is to empty the trash can into a big black trash bag, without even bothering to get rid of the scums and gums sticking to the bottom of the trash can, let alone scrubbing the bathtub or toilet, and move on to the next room. Katy does actually clean the common area and the first floor bathroom while she is on duty, but since she is on the afternoon shift, i.e. while the guests are in their rooms, that means the actual bedrooms and shower area on the upper floors never get cleaned at all.

they have a little cool garden in the backyard, but they leave the back door to the garden wide open while they are working there or just for fun even when they are not working there, the result of which is the whole place being infested with all kinds of bugs and most annoyingly, aggressive mosquitoes that eat my legs up alive while I am sleeping. I have seen huge cockroaches twice at their basement laundry area, and spiders too many times to remember.

Oh and how can I forget to mention their AC. Their AC is non-effective to its extreme that when there are more than 3 people in one room, it gets even hotter than outside. It is highly misleading to even say that they have an AC, because that will be a gross overstatement of their cooling powers.

All in all, one of the worst hostel experiences. Stay away from this place, unless you are a racist euro-trash, and love getting eaten alive by mosquitoes and various other bugs every night; dirty and soiled restrooms and bedrooms; long, hot, sweaty summer nights with non-functioning AC; and occasional encounters with mammoth cockroaches.

You have been warned.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chngchngchng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

a centrally located good and clean hostel.but manage ment is indifferent towards the visitors

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank subhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Days Inn Washington DC / Connect...
#123 of 141 in Washington DC
1,930 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#124 of 141 in Washington DC
1,405 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#86 of 141 in Washington DC
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
HI Washington DC Hostel
#2 of 48 in Washington DC
687 reviews
Downtown Washington Hostel
#5 of 48 in Washington DC
165 reviews
Adams Morgan
HighRoad Hostel DC
HighRoad Hostel DC
#3 of 48 in Washington DC
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duo Housing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duo Housing

Address: 1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4217
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range: $22 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Duo Housing 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All brand new!! New bathrooms! New media room! Cleanest rooms in dc! (Thanks to our "no shoes in house" and "no food in bedrooms" policies! ) Check out what makes Duo Housing THE #1 Choice for travellers! We provide the MOST FREE Amenities of any Hostel in DC! Duo Housing is just MINUTES away from nightlife, tourist attractions, and shopping! Less than 2 blocks to the Metro Rail! Come see why everyone LOVES Duo Housing DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Duo Housing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duo Housing Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing