We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down the best gelato!”
Review of Pitango Gelato - MOVED

Pitango Gelato
Price range: $5 - $6
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Logan Circle/ Shaw
Description: Pitango Gelato creates authentic gelato focusing on classic Italian flavors rather than novelties or trends. Made with grass-fed organic milk from a single-herd farm and fresh organic fruit and nuts, our products contain no flavorings, no colorings, nor artificial ingredients of any kind. We also our coffee very seriously. It is made with organic, single-estate beans roasted especially for us in small batches by a local boutique roaster. We use a traditional espresso machine that requires some fussing and banging but delivers a perfect shot every time. And we make our cappuccino with organic grass-fed milk, steamed for every individual order.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hands down the best gelato!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Excellent gelato in DC!! Must try the chocolate noir (dark chocolate at its best) as well as the stracciatella! Can mix more than 1 flavor per serving. Coffee and tea are available as well. Absolutely loved it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alejana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    43
    13
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Gelato Anywhere”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I've had gelato all over the country, and this was by far the best. The chocolate chocolate chip and chocolate noir will make you forget you ever had gelato anywhere else. They make their gelato on site and you will only be disappointed if you don't order enough. It is outstanding.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best Gelato I've ever had”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Better than gelato in Italy, but a little pricey...Long line, but goes somewhat quickly. The best flavors we tried: blackberry, pineapple, chocolate noir, vanilla chocolate chip, cantaloupe, passion fruit. All natural ingredients! Free wifi!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CathyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Incredible Gelato”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Don't miss this one if you love gelato. The lemon, tangerine and chocolate are amazing. I think the small is $5-6 but we'll worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CindyZach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"No pressure...but get two flavors!"”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was a nice spot we found during our stay just a few blocks away. We were in Washington during the recent heat wave, so we gladly walked a few blocks in the evening for a little cool down through Gelato. They had great unusual flavors such as Spicy Chocolate and Cardamon Crema. The employees offered great service. When you order one flavor they like to tell you, "no pressure, but everyone usually gets two flavors." You didn't have to ask us twice. The next night we were already regulars and ordered two flavors right away.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCoffeePress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitango Gelato also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing