We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM, JUST YUM”
Review of Pitango Gelato - MOVED

Pitango Gelato
Price range: $5 - $6
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Logan Circle/ Shaw
Description: Pitango Gelato creates authentic gelato focusing on classic Italian flavors rather than novelties or trends. Made with grass-fed organic milk from a single-herd farm and fresh organic fruit and nuts, our products contain no flavorings, no colorings, nor artificial ingredients of any kind. We also our coffee very seriously. It is made with organic, single-estate beans roasted especially for us in small batches by a local boutique roaster. We use a traditional espresso machine that requires some fussing and banging but delivers a perfect shot every time. And we make our cappuccino with organic grass-fed milk, steamed for every individual order.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“YUM, JUST YUM”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

On a warm day in DC nothing hits the spot like some amazing gelato from this place. You're gonna love it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    43
    13
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had walked by here earlier in our trip and even heard someone on the street say "Oh this place has the best gelato in DC." We didn't stop at the time but came back later that night for a treat. The line was out the door so we thought it MUST be amazing. It was overpriced and the number of flavor choices for the gelato were slim. Most of the fruit flavors were sorbet and the gelato flavors were tea related. Having been to Italy and had the real thing not that long ago this was a poor imitation. Save your money and just go for ice cream somewhere else. They didn't even have waffle cones.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maibel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delicious cold treat”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I was hot and tired after walking all over Washington, heading for Chinatown. This was the perfect place to take a break. Cool and delicious.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsons, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Nice Treat on a Hot Day!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife bought a mixture of Chocolate Noir and Creme Fresh. It was very good. Sitting on the bench out front and watching the people walk by was enjoyable on a warm summer day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“worthwhile indulgence”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I see that a number of reviewers have complained about the price but really this gelato is meant to be a treat and given the quality of the ingredients and the yummy flavor, it is well worth it! I'm not a big ice cream person but when I want to indulge, this is my go-to place. The flavors go beyond the standard ice cream flavors and I'm partial to the pistachio and cardamom.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sujata410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitango Gelato also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing