We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Blues here”
Review of Blues Alley

Blues Alley
Ranked #3 of 177 Nightlife in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No Blues here”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great food, great atmosphere, great entertainment. A musg stop attraction for those looking for a good time in Georgetown

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 2CDaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    33
    10
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrance Blanchard”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is my second visit to Blues Alley and can't wait to go back. It is a small, comforable venue. Mr Blanchard, a Grammy award winning trumpeter was incredible. The staff at Blues Alley were very helpful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Perello, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“JAZZ”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Washington DC; what can I say, the city of all cities. I had the oppurtunity to visit Blues Alley in Washington DC and love it. Some friends and I went to the club and got a chance to see Earl Klue Live. We sat about two meters from the stage (with everybody). This club is small witch gave it a personal touch of it's own class. The food was good and the wine list was just fine.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank plaherspla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Jazz is best up close and personal - do not miss this!”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

There is nothing quite like experiencing jazz in an intimate setting and this one is fantastic. Many jazz greats have performed here but even the second tier of musicians are awesome. Do not worry about who is performing; just make a reservation for any time you can. Your reservation gets you in the door but if you want a choice of table come early. The small tables are pretty close together, mostly having a good view for everyone. And bring a hand fan because it can get pretty sticky. Please, please bring your good manners too. It is okay to talk a little between songs but loud talk during the performance is incredibly rude.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sbva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Don't Miss”
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

I have been coming here for about 15 years, whenever I am in town and have the opportunity. I have never been disappointed by a performance. I'ce been lucky enough to sit behind Ellis Marsailis, get Arturo Sandoval's autograph, and watched Jim Crock's son perform. But even the less famous have been well worth the visit.

Helpful?
Thank amracel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blues Alley also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Blues Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing