We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of Cava Mezze

Cava Mezze
Reserve with OpenTable
Cava Mezze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #226 of 3,229 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Your neighborhood Mediterranean hangout, dedicated to shared plates and culinary excellence. Find us in Rockville, DC, Clarendon, Baltimore, and Olney. Established in 2006. In the summer of 2006, long-time friends Ike Grigoropolous, Ted Xenohristos, and chef Dimitri Moshovitis came up with the idea for Cava Mezze over coffee. As three children of Greek immigrants, and life-long Rockville residents, they aimed to bring mezze-style dining of from their parents' home to their home. Despite opening their first Cava Mezze in a once desolate shopping center, the restaurant thrives as a neighborhood hangout. From hand-building tables, to smashing tiles, each founder and their family poured every ounce of their effort into making their first restaurant a success.
HK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Checked out various websites for recommendations on where to eat in Washington DC (including Tripadvisor!) and settled on Cava Mezze on 8th St and managed to make a booking at 7pm for 8.30pm. When we arrived the place was buzzing and about 90%full on a Thursday night. I think being seated in the first half of the restaurant would've been better than towards the back where we were as the tables are pretty close together but still, atmosphere was good and a cucumber and classic mojito quickly relaxed us. We ordered the hummus, pork belly and haloumi to get us going and they promptly arrived and were good. Service was good considering on how busy the restaurant was so we were able to order the prawns and spicy lamb sliders before we finished our drinks and starters! Food and service were both good and restaurant has a lively atmosphere. Recommended for a lively evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BurgerflipperHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    110
    31
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Liked It, Didn't Love It”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The restaurant was tucked away in a relatively quiet corner, amidst a row of restaurants and shoppes. The restaurant itself is nice and modern inside but a little too dark and after being seated at a high top table, it felt more like dining at a bar rather than an upscale restaurant. The service however was great and they do offer a small, outdoor seating area which would be nice on a cool, summer night. The food is served tapas style and the server suggested we each order 2 plates which was more than enough albeit being small plates. We ordered the octopus which was grilled with onions and pretty good, the cava fries which were not crispy enough and the spicy lamb sliders which were heavy and could have used a little more tzatki to balance out the flavor but was the most appetizing selection out of the three. We were full after the 3 plates as the restaurant offers generous portion sizes for a mezze restaurant. Overall, it was good. The servers were attentive and it was very affordable. I'd return, I just wouldn't rush back as the most important part of a dining experience to me is the food,

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lot of fun”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a perennial favorite in our list of places to visit when in the city. It is a bit crowded and the staff could be a *bit* more attentive at times. However, it is fun, and the food is better than average. The real strength are the drinks. The drinks are well mixed, creative, and they do not skimp on liquor. The Brussels Sprouts are always well prepared and tasty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Idandart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
482 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was disappointed in my dinner at Cava Mezze, expecting more creative and appealing tapas due to the positive reviews. We sat on the roof top, which was nice but nothing exceptional. The decor was average with black metal tables that had no character. The waitress tried to discourage me from ordering beer on tap, warning that it would take longer to come from downstairs but bottled beer was available upstairs. Service was on the slow side and the waiters were not quick to remove empty plates or refill the pita bread. We quickly ran out of room for the plates since the delivery of the tapas was not well paced. The music was fairly loud, making it difficult to hear each other. The most disappointing part, however, was the food which was average and doesn't come close to the tapas I've had elsewhere. The only dish that stands out was the Baklava, which was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Super Fun!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I met an old friend here at his suggestion while visiting our hometown of DC. So much fun in a great space. Service was right on target. Drinks were AMAZING. Had so much fun tasting all the different menu items. Order the flaming goat cheese - they light it on fire at your table! A great place to meet friends and enjoy the evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilene80111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cava Mezze also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Cava Mezze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing