We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much like the hotel.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Capitol Lounge

Capitol Lounge
Ranked #795 of 3,199 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Capitol Hill
Troy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Much like the hotel.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Poor quality. limited selection, pricey. Not impressed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    4
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“How do you mess up Grilled Cheese?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Even I can make a grilled cheese ... what I received was 2 dry pieces of toast with semi melted cheese (for $9.00 no less)! We only went here after being turned away by the long lines at Good Eats. We should have waited - because those burgers looked REALLY GOOD! Our food was yuck! Oh, and if you order a Bloody Mary - you have to make it yourself at this "Bloody Mary Bar". Its a counter with all these different hot sauces, a pitcher of tomato juice and some sticks of celery. I only used the sauce that looked relatively new and clean .... I still skeeve the rest of the stuff that was on display. Do you not have health inspectors in DC? That was just plain gross!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank HelenAKord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out and see some Presidential campaign stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

This is a little bar close to the Capitol. We went there the night of the State of the Union address and it was really popular and busy! Lots of campaign buttons and memorabilia from past campaigns (Nixon, Carter, etc.) covered the walls. There are a couple of bars inside and they serve your normal bar food - on Tuesday night they had .25 hot wings that were really great. The nachos aren't worth ordering. Downstairs they have more seating and a pool table, etc. so if you're looking for a place to hang out and you don't mind close quarters this was good. If you want to HEAR the State of the Union address on one of their 20+/- TVs good luck - if you want to play drinking games off key words - this is your place!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank roadtrip67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“busy dive near our hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

met friends here the first night we got into town. food was solid bar fare and drinks were sufficiently strong but a little pricey if you ask me...

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank jette78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We should have kept walking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We visited Capitol Lounge on Veteran's Day, 2011. The restaurant / bar was not overly crowded and we got a seat immediately. The decor consisted of political posters and memorabilia which I found very interesting. The restaurant, including the restrooms, needed a good cleaning; even our menus were splattered with food. We ordered our food, drinks and appetizers,the waiter did not write any on the information down (there were four of us) and consequently forgot an entire order, which we had removed and just shared our food with the person missing her order. The waiter offered to put the order in but very little apology was given. Our drinks were never refilled nor was the service very attentive. The food itself was mediocre and overpriced, averaging with tip, about $17 per person. We do not plan to return to this restaurant again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Lounge also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
 

Been to Capitol Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing