We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ok location, quiet pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Washington DC/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Washington DC/Convention Center
Ranked #131 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ok location, quiet pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel last September. It is not central and you will need to walk at least 10 minutes to the closest subway. The rooms were very clean and quiet considering this motel is near a busy main road. Found the motel quite pricey but they did do us a small deal for 3 nights stay. There is are cheaper accommodation near by, I would recommend booking accommodation in Washington in advance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemcoop23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    9
    6
    17
See reviews for
6
13
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My valid reservation wasn't honored--they'd just given my room to someone else even though it was confirmed and paid for--and neither the hotel or Motel 6 central reservations did a damn thing about it. Both the hotel and Motel 6 agreed my reservation was 100% valid. I had to walk 2 miles through an industrial part of Washington after midnight in order to find another hotel. They wouldn't even provide a taxicab. The front desk person was clueless about why they'd given away my room--it had clearly happened on the previous shift, and that clerk hadn't bothered to tell him that he might have to turn away people with valid bookings. He did absolutely nothing to help me find an alternate hotel other than one Motel 6 that was 7 miles away, which would have put me out of pocket $50 or more for cab fares. The Motel 6 central reservations people were totally useless, as all of the people with authority to help people with reservations problems at night had gone home by 5 pm.
If you want to book here because of the low prices, make sure you show up early in the day.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank hhoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

At $110 per night, we were thrilled with the location. The proximity to the tourist sites and the free parking made the location attractive, but the area was scary at night, but turned out okay. It was located by lots of warehouses and train tracks in the Northeast. There was a guard at night and the cars were inside the fence, so no real worries. Not a location to stroll around though, and no restaurants within walking distance anyway - plan ahead. The maid was friendly and we did not experience the bed bugs so many others experienced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin City, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I reserved 6 months in advance for $89. When I stayed in April the new rate was $104. They had the new rate in the computer rather than the rate on my confirmation. However, they honored the confirmation rate. (Glad I had it with me.)

Room 115: Bathroom door knob broken so bathroom couldn't be latched or locked. Faucet was not attached securely to the sink so it moved when I used it. Night stand drawer broken so it wouldn't close all the way. Bad stain on the carpet. Sheets as thin as tissue.

Room 202: I was back a few days later and this room was better--typical of Motel 6. There were big gaps around the door so it was drafty, but it wasn't a problem because it was warm enough. I would be concerned about it in the winter.

I felt safe enough as a man, but I wouldn't recommend that women stay there alone.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champaign
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

This hotel is terrible. The people at the front desk are awful and the rats running around the stairs in the hotel is scary. The neighborhood is one of the most scary places I ever been!
I do not recommend this place to anyone. I was bitten by something in that bed and both of my arms had at least 20 bites.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank brian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Dirty Hotel. BED BUGS. Stay away. Don't stay there. Sleep at the airport, under a bridge. Yuk, used condoms, hair, smell. Oh that smell, could not identify it, probably better that way.

Room Tip: Stay in Virginia or Maryland. Use public transportation and enjoy Washington, DC
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Holy cow I feel lucky to have survived this neighborhood! It was a good deal on price, but that's it. Do NOT walk outside at night. Lots of shady characters, including some of the employees. There is a security guy who sits outside, but I don't think he seemed "with it." The beds were disgusting. The sheets were paper thin. There was used floss laying on the ground of the bathroom. The shower floor is so slimy and slippery BOTH of us fell during our showers. The TV signal is shoddy. The walls are thin enough that you won't get a wink of sleep -- even with earplugs. The carpet is dirty and dusty. And good luck getting any ice to shoot out of the dispenser. I stayed here for TWO nights, and can't believe I lived to type about it. I've been in some shady places before, but this one gave me my first-ever heart palpitations.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank haller4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#111 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#112 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue
Quality Inn & Suites New York Av...
#127 of 141 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#73 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Washington DC/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Washington DC/Convention Center

Property: Motel 6 Washington DC/Convention Center
Address: 1345 4th St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-7006
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Washington DC/Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Motel-6, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Washington DC/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Washington Dc/ Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing