We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, great bar!”
Review of W Washington D.C.

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Washington D.C.
Ranked #59 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were checked in efficiently by the very friendly desk staff (although the hotel was apparently booked, so we didn't get an upgrade, despite my status). All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The beds (as always) were super-comfortable and the Bliss products are always a joy.

Great location for White House, Metro Center, Macy's, etc., and easy walking distance to Gallery Place.

One note -- you have to go to the lobby for coffee in the morning, as there is no coffee maker in the room.

As an added bonus, the apple martinis in the bar are made without sugary mixer and were wonderful!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ecotait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Ecotait,
Glad you liked your experience to the point you wanted to share it on the web. Thank you for that. Should you need to prepare your future stay with us? Join us on our social media scene so that you will get all necessary information on our programming and future events.

Have a fantastic day
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,451 - 1,457 of 2,354 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a fabulous venue located right next to the White House. We sat up on the rooftop bar and restaurant and enjoyed a cocktail while we looked out over Washington, DC. As an extra bonus, while my husband and I were enjoying cocktails and admiring the view, the President's helicopter landed with his family who were coming back from a weekend at Camp David. (It was exciting to watch the sharpshooters assemble on the roof prior the the chopper arriving.)

It will be a regular nice weather stop for us when we visit DC since we always enjoy eating/drinking outdoors.

Room Tip: Did not stay here, only visited their rooftop restaurant. But since it is right next to the White Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobynMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear RobynMeyers,

Glad you liked your experience to the point you wanted to share it on the web. Thank you for that. Should you need to prepare your future stay with us? Join us on our social media scene so that you will get all necessary information on our programming and future events.

Have a fantastic day
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Arrived at eleven o'clock p.m. My husband and I were met by a big party going on in the lobby and thought "what have we got ourselves into" The answer is a great hotel with friendly helpful staff.
Agreed the washing facilities in the very comfortable bedrooms are strange. The door to the shower room/toilet does not close all the way but we did not mind at all. The hotel's decor is bright and cheerful and did bring a smile. Breakfast was wonderful, served in a lovely dining room by polite staff. Having a drink in the rooftop bar and seeing your neighbour is the President was a great moment. Admittedly this hotel is not cheep but if you book a hotel which has an excellent class of neighbour you know you will have to pay for the privilege. Would we go back, most definitely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Sylvia 022,

Glad you liked your experience to the point you wanted to share it on the web. Thank you for that. Should you need to prepare your future stay with us? Join us on our social media scene so that you will get all necessary information on our programming and future events.

Have a fantastic day
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I love this W hotel. My husband and I have stayed here twice for weekend getaways and have loved it each time. The design is fun and over-the-top, almost in a Great Gatsby kind of way. The rooms, while small, are also smartly designed. (Bliss products provided are an added bonus!)

Each time we've been, there's been a DJ playing on Saturday night in the hotel lobby, making even the lobby bar a fun place to stop for a drink. The POV lounge has a terrific view, but if you want a table, you'll need to make reservations in advance.

The W offers awesome service, too. The staff members are attentive and kind. On our last trip, my husband forgot his toothbrush. After a call to the front desk to request one, a toothbrush was at our room in less than 2 minutes. We've also been given extra perks (free drinks, etc.) each time we've visited.

The location can't be beat. It's within walking distance of great shopping, many museums and art galleries, restaurants, theater, etc.

Acura also partners with this W to provide free one-way car service to guests to surrounding areas. Of course, you hear a little pitch about the Acure while you ride, but it's better than a cab ride. We've had the Acura service take us to Georgetown each time. Just schedule the ride at the concierge desk.

A couple things to be aware of- If you want a quiet hotel experience, this is not the place to be on a Saturday night. Even in the "quiet" rooms you can faintly hear the music from the upstairs lounge lasting long into the night. Also, parking rates are obscene, but my husband and I, being the cheapskates that we are ;), just park in a public garage around the block and walk, saving us 50% off parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Dana A,

Happy to read that you loved your latest experience with us. We are currently working on the future programming, whether it is for some Martini's cocktail experience in our J&G restaurant or some SIP afterworks in the Living Room... Music, Design and Fashion will also grant you the coolest environment is town with some intheknow artists and designers that we really want to feature in the coming months... stay tuned!
I have noted your point re. the car park and we will look how we can improve on that aspect.

Thank you
Have a wonderful day
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Beds were very comfortable and the room was quiet even though there was a night club atmosphere in the lobby and in the roof. Food was always wonderful. I would defiantly stay here again if I had the chance. The Bliss spa was a great experience, friendly, quiet and accommodating.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CiteKity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear CiteKity,

Thank you for your nice feed back. Stay tuned for your future escape in D.C. We are preparing a great programming : Our Living Room, our J&G Restaurant, ou Bar 515 and obviously our roof top POV terrace will accomodate you whether ou want to SIP while watching some live fashion shows or you want to dine starting with a delicious Martini cocktail, or just enjoy someof the greatest Live and DJs performances in town... join us on our social media platform and learn more.
Being a Spa accro, do not forget to book in advance prior your next stay to make sur you can enjoy your massage or any other treatment with no stress.

Don't forget our SPG loyalty program that we give you points to redeem for nights and some unique moments and discounts... spg.com


In the meantime have a wonderful day.

Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel in a great location, literally 5 mins from the White House and 10 mins from the Lincoln memorial.

The rooms were a good size, with comfortable beds. I was on my own, but the fact the bathroom door left a huge gap when closed was odd!! If I had been here on vacation with my wife, I'm sure this would have been a big negative point for the hotel.

The room service was tasty and the breakfast in the newly refurbished restaurant was well priced and very well prepared and presented.

All in all, I'd go back if returning on business.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank NickF1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear NickF1978,
I want to thank you for your feed back. This is much rewarding for the team and actually we will always try hard to improve and surprise you whatever, whenever. I hope that next time, you will enjoy some of our great programming, whether it is for some Martini's cocktail experience in our J&G restaurant or some SIP afterworks in the Living Room... Music, Design and Fashion will also grant you the coolest environment is town with some intheknow artists and designers that we really want to feature in the coming monts... stay tuned!

In the meantime, have a wonderful day

Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This trendy hotel is home to POV Rooftop Bar which gives you a beautiful nighttime view of all the historical monuments in DC. The W is one block away from the White House and there is an amazing view of the Washington Monument. Make a reservation because the bar does get quite busy.

W Hotel is stylish and chic. The rooms are unique and trendy and there are several lounges on premise where you can mingle with other travelers and locals. Be ready to dish out the dough to stay here, W Hotels are not known for their affordability. However, the stay is worth it!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mrod27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear mrod27,

Thank you for your nice feed back. Stay tuned for your future escape in D.C. We are preparing a great programming : Our Living Room, our J&G Restaurant, ou Bar 515 and obviously our roof top POV terrace will accomodate you whether ou want to SIP while watching some live fashion shows or you want to dine starting with a delicious Martini cocktail, or just enjoy someof the greatest Live and DJs performances in town... join us on our social media platform and learn more.
Don't forget our SPG loyalty program that we give you points to redeem for nights and some unique moments and discounts... spg.com

In the meantime have a wonderful day.

Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,276 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,986 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
493 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#73 of 141 in Washington DC
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington D.C.

Address: 515 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $224 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amplify your Washington, D.C. experience in one of our 317 elevated hotel rooms and suites that unite historical detail with cutting edge design. Push the boundaries of possibility while overlooking the White House and Washington Monument. Ascend to POV rooftop and break through the red tape of D.C. Cross the party lines as you indulge in stunning views, signature cocktails, and live DJ beats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your W Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing