We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #55 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed at the W for a quick business trip. Nice hotel with a boutique-y feel, good location in NW DC and a great hotel bar. Customer service at the hotel was great. Asked for a room with a better view (premium Starwoods member) and the staff was very accomodating and moved me to a different room (sent service to help me move with my bags and didn't have to return downstairs to the front desk). Also realized that I forgot some toiletries and staff was quickly sent to provide some available items. Room itself was modernly furnished and clean. I would return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenC12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello StevenC12345,

Thank you for your review. We love giving our signature Whatever/Whenever Service to make your stay special and unique. We do love our SPG Members and would like to thank you for your dedication to Starwood Hotels & Resorts. We look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next escape and please let us know if you need anything.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    566
    255
    131
    86
See reviews for
298
539
134
642
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

While I will agree with the reviewer who said the halls are dark (ours was very dark), the rooms were light and airy and very comfortable. Every one of the staff we dealt with from bellhops, to doormen, to front counter and concierge gave us excellent service. We didn't have any room service, so I can't speak to that. The location was fabulous! We weren't in town all that long, but the proximity to the White House made it fun because we were able to "drop by" there several times. We could walk to all the monuments and even to the Capitol. I had one wrong charge on my bill and it was taken care of quickly.

I made sure ahead of time that we were nowhere near the disco and we had no noise troubles at all. They accommodated all of my requests.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor to avoid the noise of the disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinOaklandCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello GinOaklandCA,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you were able to enjoy our location with only a short walk to many major landmarks. We take pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sending your review to our General Manager to share with our Hotel staff. We hope to welcome you back soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July. The hotel is perfectly located for all of the tourist activities (right across the road from the White House, around the corner from one of the main open bus tours pick up points, and walking distance to the majority of museums). We also felt very safe walking around in this area early morning and late night.
The hotel's reception area is quite impressive and the service is very friendly. We thought it might be very posh and a bit pretentious, but we didn't feel this when we were there. There are a mix of tourists and business people roaming around.
The room itself is average - great facilities (gown, toiletries), very comfy beds, good shower - the reason I say average rather than great is because the room was slightly run down and not as clean as I'd have expected given the price of a room. We were out most of the time so this didn't affect us.
We didn't eat at the hotel but we went to the rooftop bar and the view is incredible!
I would recommend any tourists to stay here primarily based on the location.

Room Tip: We were floor 3 opposite the treasury. Lovely view but we were woken up by traffic fairly frequentl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MirandaBannerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello MirandaBannerman,

Thank you for your review. We do have the perfect location with only a few steps to The White House and a short walk to many major landmarks. We are so glad you were able to enjoy the panoramic views from our rooftop terrace. Please let us know when you plan your next escape and Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I guess I am too old (50) to appreciate the trendy chic indifferent approach to customer service. Hallways are dark and dingy, breakfast room service trays sit out all day in hallways, agreeing to "Green Service" means No Service, Lobby and Rooftop lounges are EXTREMELY LOUD.

Room Tip: Lobby and Rooftop lounges are VERY LOUD, SO BE CAREFUL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GatorDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello GatorDavid,

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for the experience you had during your stay. We take pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sending your feedback to our General Manager to address. We hope you will consider our hotel on your next escape to Washington DC and please let us know when you make any future plans, wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have stayed at the W Washington, DC many times and each stay I'm reminded why it's my number one hotel whenever I stay in Washington, DC.
* Amazing customer service. They really do go out of there way to take care of you.
* Great location. Across the street from U.S. Treasury Dept. and The White House. Just a few blocks walk to the National Mall. Taxis are easy to get if you need to go further out.
* The Rooftop lounge is the most partying and happening place in Washington, DC. Even on weeknights, it's a fun and festive place with a great view of Washington Monument and other DC landmarks.

This hotel is everything you expect in the standard of modern, hip, and contemporary looking hotel. The W Washington will make you not feel like leaving. I I give it five stars!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CW-Bergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello CW-Bergen,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are so glad you have made our hotel your home away from home when visiting Washington DC. We will be sharing your review with our General Manager to celebrate with our hotel staff. We hope to welcome you “home” very soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuneo, Italy
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

W Washington is a really nice property.
Great location next to the White House
Friendly staff.
I got upgraded to a suite, amazing.
W Lounge in on the roof, so you will not get disturbed
Whatever-Whenever staff was so kind and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acirrincione76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello acirrincione76,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you stayed with us on your recent trip to Washington DC. We love giving our signature Whatever/Whenever service to make your stay special and unique. We hope to welcome you back on your next escape.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

So I traditionally only stay in Starwood properties since I know what I'm going to get once I arrive.
This trip to DC had me staying up the street from my last stay (4 Points) @ the W.

I love the style and feel the W and of course the view is worth the price of admission.

Special thanks to Clare - Front Desk Services who went above and beyond to ensure my stay was great. She greeted me with a smile and always asked how my day was and what could she do to make it better! Class Employee!

Also thanks to Nomar - on the rooftop lounge who made sure their award winning breakfast buffet met my expectations.

When traveling ask for a room with a view overlooking Treasury. Well worth the price.

Only negative was the rooftop drink prices can get pricey but hey it's the W and that's to be expected.

I'll be back in a few weeks and looking forward to another stellar trip!

This W gets 4/5 stars!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello Reggie C,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We will be sharing your review and shout-outs to Clare and Nomar with our General Manager to celebrate with our staff. We greatly appreciate you as a dedicated Starwood guest. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#67 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,458 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#32 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington DC

Property: W Washington DC
Address: 515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to W Washington DC, a hotel beyond expectations. Next to the White House, the most powerful suits - pinstripes and black lace-rendezvous at W Washington DC, where Italian Renaissance meets modern cool. With commanding rooftop views of major landmarks, W-Gate is all about stately indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your W Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing