We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff experience”
Review of W Washington D.C.

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Washington D.C.
Ranked #57 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our connecting flight was delayed and one of our bags lost so we were not the happiest of campers when we arrived at the "W". The hotel was full and our room was given away because we were late. The person at the desk gave us a small room for the night and upgraded us to a beautiful room with a view for the remainder of the stay. Then we met Bob of the concierge staff. What a treat! He treated us like we were his best friends. From there on out our stay was wonderful. Jermaine of room service was a great guy bringing us everything we asked for and making us feel like royalty, he was a delight. Hotel was close to the White House and memorials and the stafff was a joy. John and Suzanne

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Hello johnshu,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed you escape with us and that our staff was able to turn the bad start into an amazing experiance. Thank you for your shout-outs to Bob and Jermaine. We will be sending them to our General Manager to share with our Hotel Staff. We hope you keep us in mind when planning your next trip. Let us know Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,587 - 1,593 of 2,306 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was the best staffed hotel we have stayed in. From the front desk to the bellman. All were excellent. They went above and beyond with service. The room was was clean and comfortable, well taken care of. We have the pleasure an Acura SUV at our disposal. This was a service for all guests A driver would take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius. Excellent service, nice drivers. The location was across the street from the Treasury Building and a block from the White House. A lot of the DC attractions are within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisN65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Hello ChrisN65,

Thank you for your review from your stay. We take great pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sharing your review with our Staff. We do have a perfect location with walking distance to DC’s major attractions. We hope to be welcoming you back very soon on your next escape.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Had a great stay at the "W" Was looking for a nice place to stay that was convienent to the local attractionsand Historic sites. Since we have never been to DC and wanted to be in a nice area, as well as being close to things we also didn't want to morgage the house on this trip either. We did some research and while serching the discount travel sites found that the midweek rates at the "W" were affordable considering the location and rates of the hotels around us. We were extreamly impressed with the Hotel, Staff, Top to bottom a great place. This place was over the top with ammenities. and a staff that would fall all overthemselves to help with anything from diections,to finding the best options of places to visit, and maximize our time while in town.
Go see Kimverly at the concierge desk amazing help, and have Bob one of the main greeters help you out with anything from bags, to valet, taxi, late check out you name it. They were all great. We will definitly make it a point to stay here again. Probably one of the best Hotel expirieces if not the best expirience that we have ever had at a hotel.
I travel accross the country for business and pleasure and stay at all sorts of hotels and resorts. I would have to say this was one of our best expiriences ever.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DandHDirkse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Hello DandHDirkse,

Thank you for your review from your recent stay. We would like to thank you for your shout-outs to several of our staff members and will be sending to our General Manager to share with the Hotel. We love offering our signature Whatever/Whenever service to make your experience unique and special every time. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and please send us an email when you plan your next trip, wdcosical@whotels.com.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I cannot believe I paid $400 per night to stay in dark closet with a bathroom in the same room as the bed. The sink is in the room and makes for a very messy experience.
The shower was also basically next to my pillow.
The room was dark and noisy. This was a real disappointment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maddeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hello maddeline,

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize that your experience was not what you were expecting. We would like to talk with you about your stay with us. Please send us your contact information to wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My family actually stayed in the W Washington DC twice within a two week period. Both times there were issues which could have clouded our stay. However, due to the attentiveness of the W staff, both of our stays met high expectations. I feel that in both situations, staff members went above and beyond what was expected.

Pros
The bed was beyond heavenly in comfort.
The modern decor is relaxing.
Everyone we encountered greeted us and was friendly.
Location is central. There are several great restaurants within walking distance. There are good shopping opportunities close to the hotel and within walking distance.
Metro Central is a block away. You can get anywhere in DC easily.
The Acura experience was great and helped with transportation.
Staff member Kathryn actually came to my room to address an issue.

Cons
Housekeeping isn't wonderful. Our bathroom floor had lots of little hairs upon arrival. I mentioned it to housekeeping, nothing was done. Once I contacted the Anytime/Anywhere staff, the problem was promptly taken care of.
The rooms near the elevator are noisy when the elevator is going up and down.
Interior rooms have a view of a brick wall and a boiler.
The hotel is crowded on the weekends. The club is in full swing. Entering and exiting the hotel can be difficult when the club is in full swing.
Overall, it is an older hotel; however, I would not hesitate to stay at this property in the future.

If you need something, this staff will make sure that you get it. The customer service is the best of any establishment I have encountered. The W really means Anytime/Anywhere

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators. Try to get a room with a street view. Coffee pots are not i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mehh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hello mehh,

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate you as our guest and your recommendation. We do have the best location in Washington DC with breathtaking panoramic views form our rooftop. We would like to apologize for the issue you had with housekeeping. Your experience is very important to us and we will be sending your feedback to our General Manager to address. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Please send us an email with your future plans and Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Had the opportunity to stay at the W in DC last week. Have stayed there a few times before and this stay was no different. Once you get over the room size (it's a W so not a surprise), its a great experience. As a Starwood platinum member, I usually get extra attention. This time for the first time, I was emailed ahead of time to see if I needed anything when I arrived. They followed up while I was there, and again after I left. Great service in the restaurant. Would recommend if you are in DC.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinoK61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hello Tinok61,

Thank you for your review from your stay. We love SPG and greatly appreciate your dedication to Starwood Hotels as a Platinum member. We take great pride in the service we provide our guests and look forward to welcoming you back. Please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed one night because the prior dates weren't available, lobby is very chic and spacious, the decoration and furniture are impeccable, staff is very homey and polite.
When you arrive at the bedrooms is clearly a disappointment for a "standard" room, as they are very small and it's not easy to move when you are carrying big bags.
The P.O.V lounge is very trendy, and it's very clear that everyone wants to hang in there.
The room service is a complete disappointment, if you are trying to order something past midnight as the time for delivery is from one hour or more, and just ordering a pizza (that was smaller than my hand and the cheese was half melted) and a chicken sandwich was over $45 dollars... wouldn't recommend getting a snack there at all......... overall rate: nice hotel, but completely over rated, Mexico City Hotel is much nicer and has bigger rooms

Room Tip: Choose a room above the 8 floor, with outdoor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickCarbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hello NickCarbot,

Thank you for your feedback. Your experience is very important to us and we will be sending your feedback to our General Manager to address. We would like to apologize that our In-Room Dinning took longer than expected. We want you to be able to relax and enjoy your time with us. We would love to speak with you about your stay and we hope to welcome you back very soon, wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 142 in Washington DC
3,071 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
1,301 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#52 of 142 in Washington DC
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington D.C.

Address: 515 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $210 - $752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amplify your Washington, D.C. experience in one of our 317 elevated hotel rooms and suites that unite historical detail with cutting edge design. Push the boundaries of possibility while overlooking the White House and Washington Monument. Ascend to POV rooftop and break through the red tape of D.C. Cross the party lines as you indulge in stunning views, signature cocktails, and live DJ beats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing