We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve”
Review of W Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Washington DC
Ranked #54 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Years Eve”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here using Starwood Points for New Years Eve weekend. Hotel was nice. Clearly an older hotel but the rooms have been updated. Bed was comfortable, bathroom clean, etc...
This hotel is close to everything. About 1.5 blocks from the White House and about a 20 minute walk to the National Gallery of Art. No parking so you have to pay about $50 a day to valet park (no limit on how many times you can take the car out). No coffee maker in the room. We requested one but they were out so they sent us up some coffee on the 2nd morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hello Mike O,

We would like to thank you for your review from your stay with us. Our hotel is very historic in Washington and we were able mix that history into the modern style. We are within walking distance to many of the major landmarks and some of the best panoramic views from our Rooftop. Please keep us in mind when planning your next escape and let us know Whatever/Whenever you need, wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    630
    286
    146
    93
See reviews for
357
615
145
754
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I really like Starwood, and while W is never my first choice I've stayed in enough of them to know they're usually clean and comfortable. I get that I'm not their target demographic, but the trendy design, music, lighting is a bit much for anyone over age 32 and any business traveler.

My stay at the W in DC will be remembered mostly for the club noise that pounds through to the 10th floor rooms all night. I booked a special non-refundable rate for a business trip, so I understand there's a limited room choice. On my arrival the manager told me all about the features of the room but neglected to mention the non stop club noise. I could have complained - but it was late, I was tired, and eventually got to sleep thanks to my earplugs and a white noise machine.

On checkout, when the W staff member asked how my stay was, I mentioned the noise. She answered me with a shrug and "Oh, I'm sorry." Not the slightest effort to make it better next time. (Another note on W staff - most are the usual standard of Starwood professionals like the manager I met at check-in, but many seem more like bored sales clerks at an Abercrombie & Fitch, like the woman at checkout.)

Everything else about the stay was fine - not outstanding, but fine. The food, service, friendly staff. But they should do something about that 10th floor noise.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank KF3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hello KF3000,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay. Your comfort is very important to us and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We would love to speak with you in regards to your experience at our hotel. Please email us at wdcsocial@whotels.com and allow us reach out to you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights on business travel and LOVED the W!

Front desk staff is wonderfully courteous and helpful. The lobby is chic and begs you to linger and enjoy the atmosphere.

The rooms are small, but typical for DC. Very stylish and comfortable, they make good use of space.

The bar/club on the top level of the hotel is wonderful. The view is stunning!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aranchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Aranchia,

Thank you for giving your feedback from your stay. We love our location and the history our building has in Washington, DC. We hope you sip’d on one of our handcrafted cocktails as you enjoyed the views at POV Rooftop Lounge & Terrace. You have given reviews for a number of hotels during your travels and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Please let us know when you plan your next escape.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

What's not to like? Ok, the room was tiny, especially at the exorbitant price of Inauguration night. But it's a beautiful and elegant historic hotel in an exquisite location near the White House. The shower is very spacious, with thick glass walls, one open to the bedroom, ostensibly for the enjoyment of other guests? Oh well, there's a curtain that can be drawn for privacy, from the bedroom side. A pretty decent view from our 6th floor room. Unfortunately the Rooftop bar closed too early for us to enjoy that spot but there's a great restaurant/bar right across the street that stays open til... So much happening in this part of the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExploreTheBigIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hello Jay P,

Thank you for your review from your stay. We are steps away from The White House and a short walk to many monuments and museums. Our rooms pull the same French Renaissance and modern cool, which is found in our Living Room, to create a unique style. We do apologize that you were not able to enjoy POV Rooftop Lounge but you can always experience the panoramic views on your next escape. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The Roof Terrace has a breathing taking view. Thanks for all that came out for the BET Honors at the Warner Theatre. The Location was nice and near a lot to visit in the city. The service was unique as well.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBJciti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hello PBJciti,

Thank you for a review from your stay with us. We were so happy to welcome you to our hotel. Please keep us in mind when planning your next event.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Last week I went to DC for a business trip and stayed at the W Hotel. Good service; nice rooms, a little dark for me, but the location was the best, two blocks from the White House.

I would definitively stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillermo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hello Guillermo C,

Thank you your review and staying with us during your trip to Washington DC. We do have one of the best locations in the District and breathtaking views from our Rooftop bar. We hope to welcome you back again very soon. Please send us an email with Whatever/Whenever you need for your next escape, wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very good location close to White House and Smithsonian. Service was up and down (the promised W anytime service was a bit missing.... as phone calls just went to answering machines and we waited in line for 15 mins for a concierge). Rooms are very small - our "fabulous room" didnt have a couch and most of the room was filled with the bed, and we really didnt like the interconnecting door to another room...noisy.

Even on the 10th floor there isnt much of a view of the White House - unless you like looking at the secret service on the roof... we did so ok.

Restaurant did good breakfasts, but the lunch menu is average. Burger needed to be sent back.

For the price I would spend more and stay at one of the less funky places that might be a bit more substance over style.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneyslicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hello mike142,

Thank you for supplying your review from your stay. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you had and would like to speak with you more in regards to this. We take great pride in the service we provide our guests and your feedback is very important to us. We want our guests to feel relaxed during their escape. Please email us your contact information to wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
2,966 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
484 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#87 of 141 in Washington DC
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington DC

Property: W Washington DC
Address: 515 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to W Washington DC, a hotel beyond expectations. Next to the White House, the most powerful suits - pinstripes and black lace-rendezvous at W Washington DC, where Italian Renaissance meets modern cool. With commanding rooftop views of major landmarks, W-Gate is all about stately indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing