We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location and Property- Staff Not up to Par”
Review of W Washington D.C.

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Washington D.C.
Ranked #55 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing Location and Property- Staff Not up to Par”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our third time staying at the W DC. In previous visits we enjoyed everything so much we choose it to celebrate Christmas vacation this year. Our suite overlooking the monuments and Dinner at J&G steakhouse lived up to our memories and expectations. However, nothing else staff related did. Everyone we ran into seemed sullen and disinterested in being there, much less helping us. In cold rain, never once in 4 days did the doorman open said door. At breakfast we were either pointed to the badly keep mostly empty "buffet" for SPG members with a frown. Or given ok food with slow service and a 18% gratuity included with no coffee refills. One morning there was literally a muffin that was in pieces and a cup of granola as the continental- we were told later when we inquired that they were out of everything else. Our server did toast us an english muffin to compensate- but fresh muffins appeared at table next to us.Where there was a "regular" paying guest. I say don't offer any amenity you can't really give. Our encounters with the housekeeping staff were similiarly unsatisfactory and half done. Once the maid just tried to take her $5 tip and leave without cleaning the room completly. Only when pressed by my husband did she finish the room. Glasses left in hallways forever, things not repaced. Just not the service level you expect from the W. We will be returning to the Fairfax Embassy Row or St Regis next trip, and would recommend you did the same. Even with the location, they are just to grumpy here to spend precious vacation time with!

Room Tip: The suite 501 with monument views was amazing! Quiet, large and comfortable with beautiful only in D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thf077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello thf077,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we want to keep you as a loyal guest. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. This behavior is not acceptable and especially not how we want you to feel during your experience. We will be sending your review to our General Manager to address these issues. Please send us an email to wdcsocial@whotels.com so we are able to speak with you more about your stay. We hope to welcome you back during your next escape to Washington D.C..

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    640
    287
    146
    94
See reviews for
363
620
145
761
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Location = Excellent. Right next to the white house.

As a Platinum SPG member using suite upgrade awards we had an issue where they wanted us to move out after the first night. Keep in mind I wasn’t aware of this till that day. And it was our mom's 70th birthday celebration and I couldn't believe we were having to deal with this. I almost moved us to another hotel but they finally figured out how to keep us in the same room.

The bar/lounge at the top is the best view in town.

I would go back even though I almost left in the middle of our stay.
.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello dsdavis,

Please accept our apologies for the frustration you faced during your stay. We understand this can be very upsetting and also takes away from the celebration for your mother. This will be addressed with our General Manager. Please send us an email to wdcsocial@whotels.com so we are able to speak with you in more detail about this.

Please let us know if you need anything,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The W is usually my first choice for visits to DC because of the location and the Starwoods points, but this hotel has some drawbacks that management can't seem to get under control. Unless you get upgraded, the rooms are small (even for DC hotels -- more akin to Manhattan hotels). And the staff is hit-or-miss -- often the front desk clerks are friendly, helpful and professional, but every once in a while someone with attitude consistently slips through every trip. It seems like the too-cool people running the rooftop bar wind up getting hired downstairs. Last, prepare to be nickel-and-dimed by the W. I travel the world professionally, so I'm used to prices charged by hotels for water, snacks, food, etc. -- but the W takes it up a notch.

J&G Steakhouse is one of the best steakhouses in the country -- I eat there every trip to DC. Wow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello GGTraveler,

We appreciate your feedback from your stay. We do have one of the best locations and panoramic views in the city. You are very well traveled, based on your reviews, and we appreciate your SPG Membership. We want you and our guests to always feel welcome during their stay. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have had. We will be sharing your review with our General Manager right away. Please send us an email to wdcsocial@whotels.com when you are planning your next escape. We would love to welcome you back very soon

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I have an office in DC and it's very close to the Sofitel so I normally stay there. However this time after the Sofitel messed up my booking (honest it was them.. not me!) we had to ring around for a very short notice alternative.

Luckily the W had rooms available and so me and my college didn't have to camp in McPherson Square and start up that whole occupy thing again.

The Hotel is fairly newly refurbished I think (5 years?) and so the general finish of the place hasn't fallen into disrepair yet. The lobby area is a nice space, especially the lobby bar which serves some really good cognac, Bernard Boutinet I think.

The corridors are dark brown which I suppose was an in colour once, but tends to make things look a bit dingy. The rooms are comfortable and have all the things you might need in a hotel bedroom. But the bathrooms are immense mine was about twice the size of the bedroom area.

There is a smallish gym in the basement that is just about satisfactory. And there is a rooftop bar that gets very busy with the after work crowd and is well worth a visit. One last note, if you show up in a car try not to arrive when the after work crowd do because the valet parking can't keep up with demand and F street becomes a major traffic jam.

Overall good hotel ..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello chkuk,

Thank you for writing your review. We are sorry to hear that you had problem with your reservation at another hotel but happy you were able to stay with us instead. Please send us an email to wdcsocial@whotels.com when you plan your next escape.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed here twice in the same month, the second stay was an improvement over the first, but still a long ways to go. During the first stay, our room did not have hot water for 2 of the 4 nights. It's an old building so I guess they were having some plumbing issues because the same thing was happening in the hotel spa...they did what the could and but still, no hot shower for 2 days was a huge problem. Both days when this happened we were rushing to get to events so did not bother with trying to change rooms or take showers in other rooms. To compensate, management assured us they would credit our stays for two nights (we were staying on points), but only one night got credited when we checked our statements. Also, the front desk was standoffish and not very friendly during our first stay. On our second stay, everything was fine, and the front desk staff was actually extremely nice, so I wondered it if it was because they realized we had a lousy stay the first first and was trying extra hard. Who knows, but given the plumbing issues and the inconsistency of the front desk staff I'm a little hesitant to stay here again. One reason I might stay here is the great location -- very close to the mall and the White House, and also across the street from Old Ebbitt Grill, which is a DC institution with the most interesting bar scene. But of course the Intercontinental and the Hamilton are also all right here so I need another reason to recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElevenBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Hello ElevenBus,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and provide your feedback from you last couple stays. We would like apologize for the situations you encountered while staying with us. We want you to enjoy our escape to the fullest and not have any issues. We will be sending your review to our General Manager to inform of the opportunities you had encountered. We also would like to speak with you in regards to your stays and also the issue of your points. Please email us at wdcsocial@whotels.com at your earliest convenience.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Washington's coolest hotel. The lobby simulates a mini-disco. Great club on top floor. The rooms are quite posh. The location is directly next to the White House and steps away from the best shopping Washington has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalSwagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Hello GlobalSwagger,

We are happy you love our hotel as much as we do. Our Hotel does have the perfect walking distance to some of the best sites but also the best views from our Rooftop Lounge. Come escape again soon and send us an email to wdcsocial@whotels.com with Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I loved the room, especially the bathroom. The sink was a copper bowl sitting on top of the counter. The shower was big enough for 3. The entire bathroom was encased with opaque glass which provided enticing silhouettes. We were given complementary drink coupons. The rooftop lounge has an awesome view of the Washington Monument. The music was loud and the dance floor was jumping. The staff was very cordial. The room was quiet. I slept soundly. We had a nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzzapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Hello zzzapn,

Thank you for you review and amazing recommendation. Our hotel has such a unique blend of the Washington power suit and Italian Renaissance. It sounds like you truly enjoyed your escape and lounging in your room. We will defiantly be sharing your shout-out with our General Manager. Please email us with Whatever/Whenever you may need for your next escape wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
2,995 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,274 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 141 in Washington DC
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington D.C.

Property: W Washington D.C.
Address: 515 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amplify your Washington, D.C. experience in one of our 317 elevated hotel rooms and suites that unite historical detail with cutting edge design. Push the boundaries of possibility while overlooking the White House and Washington Monument. Ascend to POV rooftop and break through the red tape of D.C. Cross the party lines as you indulge in stunning views, signature cocktails, and live DJ beats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing