We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“greatly, perfectly located for out of town guests”
Review of W Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Washington DC
Ranked #54 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“greatly, perfectly located for out of town guests”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

how can you go wrong? The W Hotel is located by Penn Ave and view of all the monuments on the rooftop. Service is impeccable and foods at the hotel are simple yet elegant.
I recommend to out of town need to be impressed guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeceID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    630
    286
    146
    93
See reviews for
357
616
145
754
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is one of the coolest decor's of the W Hotel's I have visited - vibrant lobby area, great looking rooms, lots of amenities and in the heart of the tourist area. A little removed from the Verizon Center or the Hill, it is still walkable to almost everything DC has to offer. One reviewer indicated the rooms are small - in my experience, the rooms at the W are average size for central DC hotels (larger than the Capitol Hilton, for example). Check in can be a little slow at times, but never more than a couple of minutes. Staff will call you by name after you have stayed a few times, and they go out of their way to check in and see if all is well. The workout facilities are average, but the rooftop bar (Altitude) is a great place to unwind after a long day and the two dining options (which share the same menu but different atmospheres) offer great food and good ambiance. There are also lots of good quality options on F Street for food and nightlife, and Chinatown is only a short cab ride away.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from F Street or 15th are much quieter than those facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Unlike the previous two W hotels I´ve been at, this one is actually pretty small. Should not have more than 180 rooms. This is actually a quality if you are used to spend more days in hotels than in your home.

This hotel is steps away from the White House (you can grasp quite a unique view from the rooftop), for tourism the location is unbeatable. The room itself is a bit small but very well decorated and divided, also unlike the W hotel in Santiago for example this one has a white room (way better than the dark alternative from Chile).

Service is starwood standard fare, meaning people will "force" smile at you most of the times, do well when you ask for simple things and fail miserably if you ask for something outside of the ordinary.

I payed around US$ 300 plus a US$ 50 tax (!!), reasonable priced for quality and location.

I would come back to this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was expecting a bit more from this hotel. It's true the location is great but that's it. The room itself might seem very cool but really impractical in many senses, specially the sliding bathroom door. The check-in process was a complete mess, though it is true I received a complimentary breakfast as an apology. However It is also true that was one of the worst breakfasts I had in a hotel of this category.

The terrace of this hotel seems to be one of the hot spots in Washington nightlife, so be prepared to share the elevator with drunk people and expect people running and yelling at 5am. Sweet dreams.

In summary: this hotel is not worth its rates

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

GREAT property in the heart of DC. While the room was small, the W has done an incredible job of making it both luxurious and cool. Really enjoyed this aspect of the hotel.

Also, the vibe in the hotel is extremely cool and energetic and most staff very accomadating. Finally, the Roof Top bar has incredible views of the Washington monument and the White House.

On the "needs improvement" side of things, while I understand that the W strives for the hip factor, the attituude of some of the rof top personnel, especially the host and a tall bartender with dark hair, was completely unacceptable. Both were standoff-ish and rude to me and my guest.

All in all, a wonderful property but if I was King for a Day, there would be some personnel changes made at the Roof Top lounge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have stayed in several W Hotels and the service at this one terrible. When we checked in at 2:10 our room was not ready, but they said that they would call when it was ready. They never called. When I called them at 6 PM they said that the room was ready and they were sorry that no one called. They promised to do something to make up for it, but never did. When we finally checked in they brought our bags around and said that they would follow us to the room. After waiting 15 minutes we called and they realized that they had forgetten to bring our bags up. The room was very small and the windows were frosted, so that you could not see out. The bathroom was so dark that it was difficult for my wife and I to get ready. Rooftop bar has a great view, but the drinks are overpriced and the bartenders were not friendly. I would never stay here again. It also makes me question whether I would stay at any W. I should have believed the other bad reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night over a weekend. The service was brilliant- nothing was too hard and they went out of their way for us. We used the Acura service which is a great option to shuttle around Washington. The concierge were very helpful and the location is just perfect. Go and check out the bar on the top level for great views. We ate in the steakhouse for lunch- just ok food but nothing special. We did however witness Michelle Obama walking into the hotel from lunch so that improved things. Hotel is very clean and large rooms providing all the amenities you need.

We used rewards points for our stay but we would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayC23_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
2,968 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
486 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington DC

Property: W Washington DC
Address: 515 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to W Washington DC, a hotel beyond expectations. Next to the White House, the most powerful suits - pinstripes and black lace-rendezvous at W Washington DC, where Italian Renaissance meets modern cool. With commanding rooftop views of major landmarks, W-Gate is all about stately indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing