We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gardens galore”

United States Botanic Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Washington DC Twilight Tour
Ranked #24 of 430 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A truly green spectacle, with a jungle, a National Garden with a First Ladies water garden, a rose garden and exhibits on ecology and evolutionary biology.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Lords Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gardens galore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Beautiful and varied and a pleasure to walk through. We did have a problem with the audio setup they have, since we tried one of the codes and it was talking about the wrong place in the gardens. So we didn't bother trying again. We also thought the plant markings could have been better. But all in all it was lovely. Lots of variety. We particularly enjoyed all the orchids.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,328
    580
    128
    21
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Amazing collection of plants and flowers from all over the world - very lovely location, and a bit less harried many of the other tourist attractions in town. If I lived here, I think I'd spend many afternoons sitting in the rose garden, or even in the water room. So lovely, so relaxing!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“So Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stumbled on this fabulous garden during a recent business trip when I found myself with a few unexpected hours of free time. It is nothing short of glorious!

As you wander through the indoor exhibits you are magically transported from one country to another, from one climate the another. As each door opens you enter enother "world" of flowers, plants, vines and cacti.

I expecially loved the "Orchid Room" filled with more orchids in one place than I think I've ever seen.

Leaving the indoor space you can then wander through the beautifully manicured outdoor garden with its unique fountain and trails.

When you need a break from visiting all the other museums on the mall, I highly recommend a visit to this literal breath of fresh air!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wndyctyGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always well done and very interesting if you like flowers and plants.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our second visit to the Botanic Garden and it was beautiful. All the orchids were blooming, hydrangeas were unbelievable, and the trees and plants outdoors green and profusely blooming. We spent about two hours wandering through everything and taking notes about things we'd like to try at our home in Florida. And, we'll be back next time we're in Washington!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Char41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Gorgeous place. Take some time to read all the info, there is a wealth of information about health benefits and history of plants. If you can go around the holidays, it's decked out beautifully with poinsettias and lights with a train room for kids. There is also a great children's play area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United States Botanic Garden also viewed

 

Been to United States Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing