We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intriguing history lesson”

Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Washington DC National Mall Evening Walking Tour
Ranked #10 of 431 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This outdoor memorial is the most popular of presidential memorials, in large part because of its elegant design, which includes waterfalls and sculptures.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Intriguing history lesson”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This memorial is located in a great spot near the tidal basin, walking distance from the Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial. The memorial is structured around FDR's terms of office, and includes a powerful separate sculpture of him in a wheelchair. The walls are filled with powerful quotations and images of the depression and the war, and provide an interesting overview of the roles he played in U.S. history.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,503
    982
    206
    29
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful memorial”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I saw this memorial on a church group visit to DC monuments. It was beautiful. The water features, the quotes, the attention to detail, the scupltures. I highly recommend. I've been in and around DC for quite some time and had never visited this memorial. It is an on the list item that I have all of my out of town family experience. Highly recommend.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank johnstonsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EL DORADO HILLS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FDR monument is the best”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

It's The Most Spacious With Inspiring Water Features And Memorable Quotes. I Would Return Every Time I Visit Washington

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tonyb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
199 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Under visited but the best memorial”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was the only one there, it is a wonderful monument to his presidency and well worth the walk. Divided into each of his terms it depicts his work and his time in a moving and uplifting way.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unexpected treasure”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was a real treat. It was both educational and inspirational. The memorial consists of a number of phases showing the many issues and challenges of this amazing period (1933-1945), and left one feeling good about the U.S. and inspired by this amazing leader.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing