We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darth Vader Gargoyle!”

Washington National Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Private Half Day Narrated Washington DC Tour
Ranked #17 of 443 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This Gothic-style cathedral is the sixth largest in the world and is put to all sorts of national purposes, such as President Wilsons funeral and a prayer vigil for American hostages during the Iranian crisis.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Darth Vader Gargoyle!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Absolutely huge! Our bus tour made a brief stop here on the way back to the hotel so although we were unable to go inside I was amazed at what I saw. I found the Darth Vader gargoyle, which wasn't easy. This cathedral is gorgeous! I wish we were able to go inside to see all of the glass. I could have spent all day at this place and if you plan to stop here you will need time to take it all in.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JennJeffToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,914
    474
    124
    18
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“INSPIRING”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Staff was helpful and was able to walk inside the cathedral and grounds worry free and loved it. Such a great place for reflection and quietness.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GenevaGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“wonderful walk and beautfuil grounds”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Walked in the Bishops Garden this morning and the roses were in full bloom. It is the most peaceful and serene spot to visit! The Cathedral grounds are often busy and the renovations continue, but the garden remains an oasis of quiet in the middle of the city.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mas47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous Visit!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was one of the best things we did on our trip. Loved the audio tour. It's the most stunning place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GBE_in_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Huge building, nice property”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was one of the stops on the greenline hop on hop off tours. I'm glad we stopped. My wife took some great pictures as the day was clear. Our only problem was some of the buildings were under repair. I guess that happens sometimes. The place was clean and well maintained. It was a good stop.







t

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank glenn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington National Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Washington National Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing