We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just to say you've seen it and been there”
Review of Capitol Hill

Capitol Hill
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Guided Tour of Washington DC
More Info
$74.98*
and up
Washington DC Segway Tour
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Haunted DC Walking Tour on Capitol Hill
Ranked #26 of 444 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At the east end of The Mall, the Hill is home to the U.S. Capitol.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just to say you've seen it and been there”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

It was just a place to see. Of course to get in, you'd need to make an appointment or buy a ticket or whatever. It is a great view though. And the grounds and Ulysses Grant memorial is nice. Beautiful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheChwlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,566
    794
    195
    35
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I thought we would see more”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were in town for police week and decided to visit the Capitol Building. It was a nice visit but I thought we would see more of the building. We were shown a short movie about how the building came to be and then were walked around a little to the rotunda and got to see the statues. I recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Capitol Tour”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Book a tour in advance from one of your state representative. It was great, got to see so many awesome things. Would highly recommend it

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JennRN1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evesham
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Visit seat of government”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Book tour of Capitol on internet as places get filled even in low season. Interesting tour of main ceremonial chambers with informative guides preceded by an interesting film about the beginnings of US democracy.
Visit galleries of both chambers and watch debates but check timings (we had to wait for session to start)if non US citizen tickets can be picked up on the day ,photo ID needed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank faxEvesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We did the tour. It was interesting, but not a top highlight of our trip. Preferred looking at the grounds on the outside. Our tour guide was top notch. The staff were accomodating. We showed up on time, but my 13 year old son was starving. They allowed us to go into the restaurant and eat and attend a later tour, which helped save our day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank vacationfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Hill also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing