We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Capitol Hill

Capitol Hill
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Haunted DC Walking Tour on Capitol Hill
Ranked #29 of 430 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At the east end of The Mall, the Hill is home to the U.S. Capitol.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
289 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Worth traveling half the world to visit the Capitol hill. The guided tour including Library of Congress was awesome. Our guide was knowledgeable, humorous and passionate with his job. We were lucky to visit DC after the government shutdown. This is a must see attraction if you are visiting Washington DC. If you are a group of more than 10, its advisable to book entrance tickets online.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank arangemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,464
    761
    191
    35
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Booked the visit from the UK and wasn't expecting it to be as long and comprehensive as it was. The orgaisation was great and the whole thing was very informative - guide was good and knowledgable. Minor point was that the tours occasionally got jammed up with each other, a few less in the tour groups may have been better. The corridors are a bit narrow in places. Loved the bronze and marble statues and how each had a snippet of history associated with it.

As we weren't US citizens we could just walk up to the information desk and get passes to visit senate or house of representatives which were both in session. So it was easier than having to visit the office of your senator which others had to do!

Definitely no liquids but other than initial screening security wasn't overbearing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“How ironic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Such beauty of architecture and yet the waste of money from the people inside. Stayed at Hyatt nearby. Seeing at night is even better.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LenbenVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

From the moment I laid eyes on this building, it took my breath away! This is a building that you see on the news, in movies, and in history books, and there it was right in front of me. I was with a group of college students, so we didn't get a tour, but we did get to have coffee with our senator. Great experience! Part of our group was later able to watch the senate vote that day and they had a great time being part of that. From what I could see of the inside of the building and the sculptures, they were beautiful. I'd like to go back someday.

Be prepared to wait in line for security...outside. Your bag may be checked. Do not carry liquids or food, including things like hand sanitizer and perfume.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kady39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This was great to see! One of the things as an American you should be able to say you had the pleasure of seeing. It is a gorgeous building and it is breath taking at night!

Helpful?
Thank Casey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Hill also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing