We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the Kennedy Center...5 stars for sure”

John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Private Half Day Narrated Washington DC Tour
More Info
$400.00*
and up
Customized Private Sightseeing Tour of DC
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Washington DC Twilight Tour
Ranked #26 of 447 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's the Kennedy Center...5 stars for sure”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Surprised my boyfriend with tickets to see Book of Mormon for his birthday. He travels to New York frequently for work and had tried to catch it there numerous times. Bought the tickets on StubHub since the performance was sold out and ended up paying as much as I would have if we had gone to see it on Broadway. The show was wonderful, the seats were great and the surprise worked out well. The Kennedy Center is a must visit for anyone coming to DC. One note--when we were walking in, there was a woman entering with her infant and the ticket collector's face fell when she saw her...in a very nice way. Even infants going to see a show at the Kennedy Center have to have a ticket and the collector very obviously was upset about having to tell the woman.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hea1thyTrave1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    981
    334
    69
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chestertown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
621 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“A Night at the Opera”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were here for an Opera... a Wagner Opera... so we knew we were in for the long haul. We got there early for the six o'clock start and walked around. The views from the terrace is as good a vistas as you will get in DC. This place is huge... and it can dwarf you quickly.

The Opera House is modernistic in the realm of Opera Houses, but the acoustics and sight lines are superb. The cafe is cafeteria style and has a nice selection of nibbles for pre-performance dining... and the dining room is restaurant unto itself... and better suited for a later starting performance.

While the Opera tix can be pricey, there is a free offering of music at six most evenings, so check the sched and you might get some free entertainment at a champagne venue.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We attended the Million Dollar Quartet in the Eisenhower Hall.
An excellent show. We also saw the free concert from 5-6pm daily. A wonderful violinist, beautiful pianist and great classical guitarist.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
713 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“lovely venue”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

What a great place to see a show and enjoy the arts. I always love coming here. Tip: take the Metro. Flat rate parking of $22 is outrageous for a 2 1/2 stay.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank joburkholder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Million Dollar Quartet”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Wow! We loved this show -- so much fun -- and the actors had THE most amazing voices. And the acting? Wow! We had a great time -- we recommend it to anyone who likes rock 'n roll.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeachesForFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing