We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place, definitely worth a visit”

John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Private Half Day Narrated Washington DC Tour
Ranked #26 of 442 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
826 reviews
355 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Awesome place, definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

First I like the place, its history and views. I like also the fact that you can go there without attending any event. Just to walk by, shop or dine. Parking is expensive during performances ($22) but you will get money back at the exit if you shop or dine there, based on a validation stamp on the ticket. Outside the performance time you have to pay @ $3 per hour. Enjoy the spectacular views over DC and Arlington.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aburel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    960
    328
    68
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heartland Girls loved the Jazz.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

6:00 pm nightly is a free concert at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts 365 days a year. We listened to the sounds of a 16 year old Jazz performer and a trio that brought Jazz alive for an hour long concert.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawngirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoying the music”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Dvorzak's the 5-th symphony was very enjoyable in the concert hall of this prestigious institution.
The space is so vast that it never feels crowded.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Myworld2008Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Glamorous and Elegant Venue on the Potomac River”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Attending any show or performance at the Kennedy Center is a treat, but try to see it during the day (less busy), and try to schedule a tour. Many gifts from other countries are displayed and used in this special Center ... chandeliers, draperies, sculptures, etc. which can best be explained by a docent. There are free concerts and shows in addition to high-end perfornances. Do your research and try to fit in a visit. Parking is available under the building (fee).

Helpful?
Thank 2BeAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Living up to its Famous Name”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

When I visited this Christmas they had nine jazz performers doing medleys. It was nice.
However, my best memories were when I sang along with the Messiah at the Kennedy. That was great. My best memory was when the National Symphony Orchestra did Respighi's Fountains of Rome. When the organist hit that huge bass pipe the import of that musical not was a highly pleasurable experience. You have to go there when they have a full orchestra with organ.
The Kennedy was build when I lived there in the 1960s. Being a frequent visitor back then I enjoyed whatever play or performance they put on.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joestuffsda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing