We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated building”

John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Private Half Day Narrated Washington DC Tour
More Info
$400.00*
and up
Customized Private Sightseeing Tour of DC
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Washington DC Twilight Tour
Ranked #26 of 447 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dated building”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

To say that I went to the Kennedy Center for a performance, well that's impressive. However, I thought it would be much more glamourous on the inside. It's a building built in the 60s or 70s, and it's pretty dated. I was expecting a more plush interior. However, it's the Kennedy Center - a nice visit if you can make it out there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelphreak2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    982
    334
    69
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waldorf, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sheer Madness at John F. Kennedy Center for Performing Arts”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Kennedy Performing Arts Center is a beautiful venue right on the Potomac River. The Center has free admission. Just wondering around the Center and its giftshops and going out on the balcony to gaze over the Potomac and the DC/Virginia skyline is worth the visit. If you're going to visit, I highly recommend getting tickets to "Sheer Madness." It is a who-done-it/comedy that is highly amusing and has much audience participation. The tickets to it are VERY reasonable and young folks (10 and up) would love it! Also, you can go up to the top floor and grab dinner at the cafe. Make a night (or matinee) of it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank susiebh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyds, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Arts Center of DC”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I love going to events at the Kennedy Center. The parking is expensive, but that is the only drawback. We used to always go to the main restaurant but when it remodeled and got rid of the Hor's Douverie, it changed too much. Now we always go the the Cafe because it is quick, shares kitchens with the main restaurant so the food is just as delicious, and it is quick and lots less expensive. I have season tickets to the NSO, the Ballet Season, and the Theatre Season which puts me in the Kennedy Center a lot! And, add to that, I live way out in the country so it is a definite "hike" for me to go there. That is how big my devotion is to the Kennedy Center! They have an excellent store and the free concerts on the Millenium Stage are terrific and always crowded. Washington D. C. really hit the big time when it built the Kennedy Center. Now we can compete with NYC.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank vwc20841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Mi
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sheer Madness”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Fantastic, so much fun !!! A production with audience participation. A great time !!! If you go you'll have a great time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mpmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful theater”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a must see. It's a truly majestic theater and it's grandeur somehow reminded me an earlier era. I had seen various presentations on TV from the Center but actually being there was a totally amazing experience. I was struck by how huge it is.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing