We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free musical performance”

John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Private Half Day Narrated Washington DC Tour
More Info
$400.00*
and up
Customized Private Sightseeing Tour of DC
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Washington DC Twilight Tour
Ranked #25 of 445 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Free musical performance”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Happenings every Wednesday at 6 pm - free!. I went there and it was a live music performance by a Serbian artiste. He played memorable music themes from popular movies on the classical guitar. It was about an hour long performance. Snapping pictures at the vast Kennedy center was also great in the evening, but bring along a good camera for this rather vantage location.
How to get there - I took the Metro and stop at Foggy-bottom station. Then follow the signs, it's about a mile away walk past the George Washington University campus.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CFC_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    969
    332
    68
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A Very Majestic Enterance”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I enjoyed attending a performance of the National Symphony Orchestra. Loved the red carpet. The bust of President Kennedy, in the hall, outside the Opera Concert Hall, is modern and well done. A very elegant building. The tall ceilings with flags gives the Center a sense of American cultural pride.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Woopiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful "White Christmas"”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Two of my best gal pals and I just went to the Kennedy Center for opening night of "White Christmas." It was absolutely wonderful! The production was great, especially considering we were almost in the back row. Plus, the center is only a short walk from the Metro station, and all the staff I encountered were pleasant and helpful, as usual. I have loved seeing shows here for years, and will continue to do so for many more!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SarahElizabethSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Nutcracker!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I went with two colleagues to see Ballet West perform the Nutcracker at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. Beautiful place. Very nice and affordable gift shop. I the gift shop stayed open a little later after performances. No photos are allowed in the theater.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tawana78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“See a concert and it doesn't have to cost anything”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Many visitors and somne locals to Washington may not be aware of the Kennedy Center's many free events. See a show by all means if interested (we've seen South Pacific and Ann Richards most recently) but keep in mind or look into the free concerts. One such event was a wonderful and touching concert by a group of childen from the Philippines, most of whom had lived in severe poverty but loved singing and were recruited by a charitable organization to join the choir. There are free concerts during the holiday season and throughout the year. Go by all means.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ethalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing