We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”

Bodega Spanish Tapas & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Bodega Spanish Tapas & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #349 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Cross street: 31st Street
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Friday night we were there was unbelievably full. We had to wait for a table in spite of making reservations beforehand. I was surprised that the restaurant was small, crowded and too loud. Not the quiet intimate place I had expected. The food was good but nothing great. Maybe living in South Florida has spoiled me though.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Armrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    116
    47
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is the second time I come here with my family, and the experience this time was as good as or even better than last time.
We shared paellas between 9 people and there was so much food that we could not eat it all and had to take some home.
There was lobster, squid, shrimp, sea food galore in one of the paellas and the other was a chicken one.
The tapas as starters were unforgettable. I particularly loved the steak!
The waiter was friendly and extremely patient with us (a loud family with a baby!)
I ate so much I could not have dessert, but did not resist and had a spoonful of chocolate cake from my sister, and believe me, it was unbelievable.
To make things even better, the price was very good!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chakal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun bar for conversation”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Met friends at the bar here for drinks. The bar tender was very friendly and attentive. Fun environment but quiet enough for easy conversation. Good drinks.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent sangria, great small plates and fun atmosphere”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had been to the Kennedy Center for a concert and wanted to visit Georgetown and see what it was all about. We got a cab and asked the driver for a recommendation for someplace to eat, he didn't seem to really know so I just told him to drop us in the middle of Georgetown near the restaurants. He dropped us off and we looked across the street and there was Bodega staring us in the face. We stuck our nose in the door and it looked very nice and actually seemed very lively for a Thursday night. We were seated immediately and our waiter was there in no time asking us what we would like. He recommended a Rioja sangria (Rioja is one of my favorite wines anyway) and we got a pitcher. It was fantastic!!! We then ordered several tapas choices and started drinking the wine. The food came and it was fantastic as well. It was just one of those great nights when all seemed right with the world. I would highly recommend Bodega when you are in Georgetown.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan-Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
172 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good choice for tapas in G'town”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Bodega was the last of 3 'small plate' restaurants that we ate at in our recent 5 night stay in D.C. - the others were Oyamel and Zaytinya. Most of our selections were quiet tasty, well prepared and presented. I can recommend the lentil soup w/chorizo (my wife promised to try recreating it once we got home - - still waiting!), the seared octopus, the duck leg confit (excellent!), grilled lamb chops and grilled mushrooms. The room is very attractive, the service was fine and there's a nice selection of Spanish wines with plenty in the reasonable $30-$40 price range.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hanleydouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega Spanish Tapas & Lounge also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Bodega Spanish Tapas & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing