We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic”

Bodega Spanish Tapas & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Bodega Spanish Tapas & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #350 of 3,199 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Cross street: 31st Street
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We took our exchange student from Barcelona to this restaurant while visiting the DC area. He thoroughly enjoyed the meal and said the food was not Americanized in his opinion. The other 4 adults and 3 teens in our group had never experienced Spanish food and we thoroughly enjoyed the food and the wine. The dishes (tapas) are small in size but big in flavor. We all had fun sampling. The atmosphere is lively and the waiters attentive to our table. I would recommend this place. Not a place to dine if you are in a hurry but if you want to just relax and enjoy yourself this is the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gracie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    116
    47
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I went here for a birthday dinner with about 10 people and it honestly took us over 3 hours to have a meal. It just took forever and the service was pretty bad. We had a pretty good time because the food really is good but its not great if you plan on going anywhere else after. Also, they are not the greatest at accomodating a special order (like an allergy or changing something on the menu) which was irritating.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bostongirlinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Appeteasers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

the food was okay and if you like the paello rice and small portions of sampling foods then this is your place not quite kid friendly

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SlyShirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“what a surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just came in for a quick diner before the ballgame. But what a surprise it was! All the tapas were very very good. The service was good and friendly.

The Gambas were great and the Tuna was one of the best Tuna, in not THE best Tuna we ever had. The white wine we had was also excellent. If you are in Georgetown and want to have diner this restaurant should be high on your list.

Pick around 6 or 7 tapas for 2 persons. If you are hungry you can also order more!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Actionhost A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Appeals to the whole family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were traveling in a large group that included adults, small children, 1 vegetarian, and some picky eaters. Everyone found something they liked. Tapas worked well to keep the kids happy while we waited for the paella. Although this took a bit longer, sharing a large paella family style worked out great for our family. This is such a better option compared to any of the usual junky menu items offered to kids at most restaurants these days, and ordering kids a full meal off an adult menu usually would mean wasting a lot of money. So this worked out well for us, as there was a wide range of vegetables, seafood, and meat to satisfy all. Loved the funky and colorful decor. Service was great. Also, the sangria was really good and reasonably priced. Worth the trip and we would visit here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega Spanish Tapas & Lounge also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Bodega Spanish Tapas & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing