We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap!”
Review of Panache Restaurant

Panache Restaurant
Ranked #641 of 3,229 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: Between L/M and 17th/Conn.
Transit: Farragut North Metro Station, take Connecticut Ave towards L St or Dupont Circle. Pass the Mayflower Hotel, right on Desales St. Restaurant located on the left hand side.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cheap!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Ordered a soup & half sandwich set. More than enough for an Asian's stomach. Not expensive at all :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LinusLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    45
    26
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous Steak & Attentive Service”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We were able to make a reservation within two hours of our desired meal time with no advance notice and were seated immediately when we arrived. The host and wait staff were attentive, but not overly so.
Drinks and meals were reasonably priced for an upscale restaurant in DC. I had a salad for an appetizer that I thought was going to be the size of a cocktail napkin and ended up being the size of a dinner plate--great value for the price.
Similarly, I ordered a filet mignon that was cooked to order perfectly and was served with some of the best asparagus I have ever tasted.
My boyfriend ordered the Mahi Mahi and he said it was superb.
We ended up with two appetizers, two entrees, drinks, and our tip to our server coming right out at $100.
We were thrilled with the quality of our food and were able to enjoy each other without a lot of noise or interruptions. It was the perfect dinner out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank J Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
341 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good tapas, great scallops ceviche”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This place just across the mayflower is a good idea if you just want some appetizers, they also have a fixed menu for 34 us. I went for the tapas and the great surprise came with this fantastic scallops ceviche felt fresh and tasty. Had also the frilled portobello which was also good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kcanavan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
314 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“An unrecognized gem”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Rated by about 30 people, compared to the hundreds that have rated the higher ranked restaurants, this establishment deserves better recognition. Located pretty centrally in a quiet side street behind one of the better known hotels, it is an undiscovered gem. Maybe the folk who have found it want to keep it that way! There are two somewhat separate areas: a 100+ seat restaurant and a 20+ bar area with a few high sitting tables. The menu is a delightful and broad range of tapas and several more complete dishes. It was a great lunch spot for the two of us on a wet afternoon. The moules provencale were more than a tapa or mezzo; they were a completed luncheon. The Provençal sauce had just the right touch of spice with a generous serving of mussels. The fattoush salad was fresh and crisp and piquantly dressed. We almost did not get to those as main courses because the bread served with a garlic mayonnaise dip was just outstanding. It is not a a pretentious place and the sidewalk cafe in clement weather must be very special.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 22club58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota, USA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tasty and Terrific Service”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great small plates and attentive staff. Recommend for business dinners and for meeting with friends after work.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BFR1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panache Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Panache Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing