We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate gallery, great cafe”

The Phillips Collection
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour of Washington DC: Monuments, Landmarks and Memorials
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Walking Tour On Embassy Row in Washington DC
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass
Ranked #30 of 445 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Americas First Museum of American Art" boasts a collection of over 2,500 19th and 20th-century masters, both American and European, including Renoir, Picasso, Gauguin, Manet, OKeefe and more.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Intimate gallery, great cafe”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

An smaller, more intimate gallery with a very good mixture of artwork, including French impressionists, Excellent Cafe

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LyndaSails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    848
    238
    52
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WashingtonDC
Level 6 Contributor
843 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
“comprehensive museum with cool audio guide”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Living in DC, I feel very fortunate to have a lot of little gems of museums like The Phillips Collection at my doorstep. I've been to this museum a few times, most recently to view the Van Gogh repetitions, and I feel it's a great place for an event or to wile away an afternoon.

The art itself is impressive, and the collection is varied and comprehensive considering how much attention is given to going to the regular DC museums. While there is a price of admission, you're supporting a private collection that is funded, so I don't really have a problem with that. Also, they had an audio guide for free where you could call a number with your cellphone and that acted as the guide. I had never seen that before, and it was very convenient.

From the outside, you definitely can't tell what's inside, and I guess that's part of its charm. I'd definitely recommend a visit to The Phillips Collection.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jg325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“An out of the way gem...”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Museums like the Phillips Collection are true gems, displaying art in a more natural setting than the often sterile environment of traditional museums. Walking through the rooms can be a bit confusing, but each corner brings new and intriguing sights. I was there for the Van Gogh exhibit which was nicely curated, but the museum as a whole was quite an experience. The Rothko room is especially interesting for aficionados of his art; it's just you alone with his works ,without any other stimuli, an ideal way to view the work. Parking might be rough, (I was staying at a nearby hotel) but the museum is well worth the effort.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarrJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Caldwell, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Delightfull Surprise”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Van Gough exhibit was wonderfully put together. It was extremely enjoyable and very educational. Learning more about Renoir increased my appreciation for the artist. The pleasant surprise was my accidental encounter with Renoir's "Le déjeuner des canotiers" It was absolutely breathtaking. I also enjoyed having the docent explain the painting; it made it much more personable which deepened my appreciation of the artist.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 6bella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Blurred lines”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

If you love Rothko, you'll love the room designated to his work. I like this gallery very much. Each level had something more to offer the viewer.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Phillips Collection also viewed

 

Been to The Phillips Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing